Notification

Icon
Error

Unannounced Lansweeper price quadrupling

Posted: Wednesday, April 20, 2022 8:53:29 PM(UTC)
ThomasKl

ThomasKl

Member Original PosterPosts: 5
7
Like
So apparently since today you have to license a minimum of 2000 Assets, quadrupling the price for everyone below 500 Assets.

We happily payed 500€ for 180 Assets. But paying for 2000? There is no way.
Will there be an option to stay on the 500 Assets tier for ongoing customers?
Cin Dee
#1Cin Dee Member Administration Posts: 24  
posted: 4/21/2022 2:34:32 PM(UTC)
Thank you for your feedback regarding our updated pricing.

We’re happy to honor the previous pricing if you started a Lansweeper trial before April 21st, 2022, even without a formal quote at hand. If you could reach out to us, we’re happy to accommodate. This offer is valid until the end of May 2022.

For questions about existing licenses and how these changes might affect your next renewal, please reach out to our sales team. We’ll happily look at your specific case in detail and provide you with all the information you need.

Our sales team can be contacted here: https://www.lansweeper.com/contact-sales/
Jonathan Conn
#2Jonathan Conn Member Posts: 2  
posted: 4/21/2022 3:19:02 PM(UTC)
We are already overpaying for licenses because we've purchased for 1000 assets, but we're only using 550 currently. This minimum increase would double our cost which isn't as severe as the original poster, but is enough that we'll be looking at other options when our current license is expiring.

If LanSweeper is going to continue allowing lower minimums for existing customers, I don't know why I should have to reach out to the sales team for this information. We purchased our licenses through a vendor, and I've contacted them about how this will affect our decision to renew in the future.
cswroe
#3cswroe Member Posts: 7  
posted: 4/22/2022 11:58:16 AM(UTC)
Stunned by this as it just penalizes mid-sized businesses and smaller organizations (generally non-profits) and does nothing to those large corporations that meet the minimum number already. If you are going to do a price increase, apply it equally, but to specifically target a single segment of your customers is pretty low.
wbeavis
#4wbeavis Member Posts: 2  
posted: 4/22/2022 3:30:54 PM(UTC)
No one mentioned the new monitor functionality (that will likely become a requirement). Most of my users have 2-3 monitors. Easily changing monitors from no charge to charged assets will double our cost.

Is lansweeper trying to lose customers?
rader
#5rader Member Posts: 52  
posted: 4/22/2022 4:28:33 PM(UTC)
If this price increase affects our renewal, then I will have just spent the past three years customizing Lansweeper for naught. We're on the 500 plan model and I can't justify a quadruple increase just to keep this running.

Lansweeper Cxx's, why are you trying to lose customers? We're completely happy with the product. Please don't make us leave.
FrankSc
#6FrankSc Member Administration Posts: 210  
posted: 4/25/2022 3:26:35 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: wbeavis Go to Quoted Post
No one mentioned the new monitor functionality (that will likely become a requirement). Most of my users have 2-3 monitors. Easily changing monitors from no charge to charged assets will double our cost.

Is lansweeper trying to lose customers?


Hi, at the moment we don't have any plans to count scanned monitors towards your asset license. We introduced this feature, but it is optional.
CyberCitizen
#7CyberCitizen Member Posts: 471  
posted: 4/27/2022 4:43:44 AM(UTC)
Your main marketing model was great for a small to medium business, your price increases are ridiculous now.

I was one that would normally go to bat for Lansweeper. You have a great product, not without some issues and your rollout/fix plans are interesting, to say the least.

When you have a wish list of features/bugs that are still not implemented after years.

We have around 445 assets. We already limit stuff we do not need to report on, so we are only capturing the needed assets and it's mostly used for software deployment as we already have an asset system we use for tracking financials, depreciation etc. Lansweeper lacks the full asset management system features, but what it did lack it made up for in the computer information features and software deployments.

I have spent the last 4 years configuring custom reports, getting useful information, automated deployments, promoting Lansweeper etc. But as of our renewal period, if the asset limit is still set at 2000 assets, we will not be renewing again. Forcing a small to medium business to license at a minimum of 2000 assets is ridiculous.

That has taken our renewal cost from $695.00 AUD to $2,970.68.

How do you think I can justify an increase of $2275.68 to management with no major changes to the product or how we use it.

Time to look at SCCM (we were already licensed but preferred Lansweeper) BatchPatch, PDQ etc for software deployments. This move will shoot Lansweeper in the foot.
Todd
#8Todd Member Posts: 12  
posted: 4/27/2022 1:05:05 PM(UTC)
We have just under 500 assets as well. Are you telling me the price is going to increase by 4x? I know they were going to start counting monitors but I was just going to exclude those and assumed nothing would change. I hate to stop using this, but I can't afford price to increase that much either.
Jonathan Conn
#9Jonathan Conn Member Posts: 2  
posted: 4/27/2022 2:21:09 PM(UTC)
I asked our vendor to check into this minimum license increase and this is the response our rep received from Lansweeper:

Quote:
“The end user may be remembering when Lansweeper was offering Legacy license pricing.
Lansweeper moved to $1 per asset price structure a couple years ago in preparation for the launch of our new Cloud platform.
They may have been on a legacy price plan. Lansweeper had been transitioning the legacy accounts to the $1 per asset pricing with gradual increases from 2019, 2020 and 2021.
The new Lansweeper plan provides access to their new Cloud platform and all the enhanced features that they have added to Lansweeper software.
[My company] concern has been the same for the majority of Lansweeper customers.
At the 1.00 msrp per asset, they are still the lowest option in the marketplace. The minimum order quantity is 500 assets, they scale in increments of 500 up to 3000 ,then scale in increments
Of 1000 assets.”


We began using Lansweeper after the change to $1.00 per asset, and have never used the legacy licensing pricing (something Lansweeper should be able to look up and see for themselves). I'm verifying with our vendor rep, but according to this response, Lansweeper will still sell at a minimum of 500 assets. Going back to my earlier post, I don't know why I had to verify this through my vendor contacting their sales team when it would be very easy for Lansweeper to publicly state that existing customers are grandfathered in at the 500 asset minimum. Unless whoever responded to my rep was incorrect. Would someone from Lansweeper please confirm the response that I received above?

I'm also confused about the cloud platform because as mentioned, we've always had the newer $1.00 per asset license structure and have never been on the legacy licensing model. To my knowledge, I've never been told how to access the cloud platform or (if it's not been released yet) received any information about an upcoming cloud platform. I know Lansweeper recently purchased Cloudockit, but the press release makes this sound like something that will assist in scanning cloud based assets. Besides that press release, I see nothing on Lansweeper's website about a cloud platform. I had to do a Google search to find this website talking about Lansweeper's cloud platform and how to use it. For Lansweeper to point out that their license model provides access to their cloud platform as a benefit, they don't seem to be promoting or making it easy to access the cloud platform.
CyberCitizen
#10CyberCitizen Member Posts: 471  
posted: 4/28/2022 1:02:15 AM(UTC)
Firstly, all new licenses and upgrades will tier per 2000 until 10000. However, you purchased your 500 assets before our tiering system was changed. So your subscription will renew next year at its current value

I don’t know what the future will bring of course but for now, I know that your renewal will just be for 500 assets as long as you don’t upgrade your license. You can always cancel your renewal if the pricing over the years will change.

Secondly, We are sorry to learn that you are unhappy about our pricing.
We are rapidly developing the features of our software so our product can keep up with new IT assets and security risks. We believe this new pricing will help us to maintain the data quality of our software and guarantee that you have 100% visibility of your entire IT estate at all times.

As your concerns are important to us, we would like to extend you an invitation to discuss your personal situation in more detail in a conference call. We can set up a Microsoft Teams meeting at a date and time of your choosing. Please let us know when we can contact you.
FrankSc
#11FrankSc Member Administration Posts: 210  
posted: 4/28/2022 2:08:22 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Jonathan Conn Go to Quoted Post
I asked our vendor to check into this minimum license increase and this is the response our rep received from Lansweeper:

Quote:
“The end user may be remembering when Lansweeper was offering Legacy license pricing.
Lansweeper moved to $1 per asset price structure a couple years ago in preparation for the launch of our new Cloud platform.
They may have been on a legacy price plan. Lansweeper had been transitioning the legacy accounts to the $1 per asset pricing with gradual increases from 2019, 2020 and 2021.
The new Lansweeper plan provides access to their new Cloud platform and all the enhanced features that they have added to Lansweeper software.
[My company] concern has been the same for the majority of Lansweeper customers.
At the 1.00 msrp per asset, they are still the lowest option in the marketplace. The minimum order quantity is 500 assets, they scale in increments of 500 up to 3000 ,then scale in increments
Of 1000 assets.”


We began using Lansweeper after the change to $1.00 per asset, and have never used the legacy licensing pricing (something Lansweeper should be able to look up and see for themselves). I'm verifying with our vendor rep, but according to this response, Lansweeper will still sell at a minimum of 500 assets. Going back to my earlier post, I don't know why I had to verify this through my vendor contacting their sales team when it would be very easy for Lansweeper to publicly state that existing customers are grandfathered in at the 500 asset minimum. Unless whoever responded to my rep was incorrect. Would someone from Lansweeper please confirm the response that I received above?

I'm also confused about the cloud platform because as mentioned, we've always had the newer $1.00 per asset license structure and have never been on the legacy licensing model. To my knowledge, I've never been told how to access the cloud platform or (if it's not been released yet) received any information about an upcoming cloud platform. I know Lansweeper recently purchased Cloudockit, but the press release makes this sound like something that will assist in scanning cloud based assets. Besides that press release, I see nothing on Lansweeper's website about a cloud platform. I had to do a Google search to find this website talking about Lansweeper's cloud platform and how to use it. For Lansweeper to point out that their license model provides access to their cloud platform as a benefit, they don't seem to be promoting or making it easy to access the cloud platform.


For the Cloud Platform, we have been only introducing this very recently. More information can be found in our spring release announcement:
danielm
#12danielm Member Posts: 191  
posted: 4/28/2022 5:54:25 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Cin Dee Go to Quoted Post
Thank you for your feedback regarding our updated pricing.

We’re happy to honor the previous pricing/



Really? news to me about that. we were FORCED to give up our previous license of unlimited assets since you would
not renew it anymore.....


Don
#13Don Member Posts: 33  
posted: 5/10/2022 5:38:25 PM(UTC)
Need to be working down that 'wish list' to justify prices increases. the newest features are not that appealing, especially when the new price is figured into the equation. WE NEED MORE FEATURES ADDED - editing email templates, not just the content... editing web page templates (like smarty templates)... expand the API... addon modules and action hooks... the things of a real robust client support system... the helpdesk need some serious serious attention. lets get these updates rolling... big time!

At the current pace of updates, cheaper competition is looking real nice. Lets keep lansweeper in the fight, I like it.
CyberCitizen
#14CyberCitizen Member Posts: 471  
posted: 5/11/2022 2:48:52 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: danielm Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Cin Dee Go to Quoted Post
Thank you for your feedback regarding our updated pricing.
We’re happy to honor the previous pricing/

Really? news to me about that. we were FORCED to give up our previous license of unlimited assets since you would
not renew it anymore.....


Exactly this is my concern as they have said as long as we don't change our plan etc it will carry on for at least one renewal, but I saw what happened with the unlimited plan and those promises.
JasonP
#15JasonP Member Posts: 1  
posted: 5/11/2022 4:00:22 AM(UTC)
Again Lansweeper? I supposed we should have learnt the first time, when we were told that you would no longer renew unlimited asset licenses. Nobody believes the "we will honour your current pricing for next year" because we know, from experience, that you will force the quadrupled price license on us at some point in the future. It's a great way to reward customers who have financially supported you since you were a startup.

"We are rapidly developing the features of our software so our product can keep up with new IT assets and security risks." - yes, that's why we pay an annual licensing fee! Other vendors don't say this and then say "by the way, you've got to pay 4x the amount for it". If you want to add truly new stuff like your cloud platform, just add it as an additional paid option. It isn't of interest to us and we don't want to pay 4x the amount for something we don't need.

When we evaluated PDQ, a big factor in sticking with Lansweeper was that it was half the price. Now it's twice the price (and PDQ is unlimited assets). We won't be renewing out Lansweeper license.

LamerIT
#16LamerIT Member Posts: 2  
posted: 5/11/2022 11:39:17 AM(UTC)
i bought 500 licenses few weeks before this, but now I am not sure I want to invest in this software, due to possible surprises.
and when we will need more than 500? like 501? i have to pay 2000€ ???


what bother me more is the fact that this is not a buy and use software only, often we invest tons of time and money, and its expensive to change continuosly.

but scalability is not in this company dictionary. pretty sad.
FrankSc
#17FrankSc Member Administration Posts: 210  
posted: 5/11/2022 1:29:21 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: LamerIT Go to Quoted Post
i bought 500 licenses few weeks before this, but now I am not sure I want to invest in this software, due to possible surprises.
and when we will need more than 500? like 501? i have to pay 2000€ ???


what bother me more is the fact that this is not a buy and use software only, often we invest tons of time and money, and its expensive to change continuosly.

but scalability is not in this company dictionary. pretty sad.


Hi, Please reach out to our Sales team, they will look at your individual case and provide you with the necessary information.
Our sales team can be contacted here: https://www.lansweeper.com/contact-sales/
CyberCitizen
#18CyberCitizen Member Posts: 471  
posted: 5/12/2022 12:51:23 AM(UTC)
Keep redirecting people to sales teams to give them the short win for the year, but it looks like more people are finding out about this change and are not happy with it and are starting to voice their opinions.

It is only then that we may get change, stop taking this offline, report your frustrations and anger to the company but keep it public as well so that other users will know and also push for change.
wbeavis
#19wbeavis Member Posts: 2  
posted: 5/12/2022 8:07:20 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: FrankSc Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: wbeavis Go to Quoted Post
No one mentioned the new monitor functionality (that will likely become a requirement). Most of my users have 2-3 monitors. Easily changing monitors from no charge to charged assets will double our cost.

Is lansweeper trying to lose customers?


Hi, at the moment we don't have any plans to count scanned monitors towards your asset license. We introduced this feature, but it is optional.


That's shady as hell. This is on your own web site
Quote:
If extended display data was detected for a monitor asset, that monitor asset counts toward your Lansweeper installation's licensed asset limit. If no extended display data could be found or if the extended display scanning feature is not enabled, the monitor asset does not count toward your licensed asset limit.


So you are misleading people to turn on the feature, then down the road hit them with the additional cost.
CyberCitizen
#20CyberCitizen Member Posts: 471  
posted: 5/13/2022 7:51:29 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: wbeavis Go to Quoted Post
So you are misleading people to turn on the feature, then down the road hit them with the additional cost.


Well they want people to use the new features to justify the price increase.

We first checked out all the features, then removed everything we don't need to reduce the asset count as the asset count is what drives the price but now its 2K there is no point disabling anything apart from maybe less details to maintain.
Bill Swezey
#21Bill Swezey Member Posts: 2  
posted: 5/17/2022 11:15:47 PM(UTC)
So new LanSweeper customer here (well as of like Dec '21) and I just found this new pricing model when I upgraded to the latest version. We have about 240 assets and are paying for the 500 asset license. so about 2 dollars per asset per year. That seems reasonable but now we are looking at over $8 per asset - quadrupling! No way I can sell that to management. Since Lansweeper doesn't want to bother with smaller organizations, maybe they just expand the free tier to 500 and let all of us little guys fend for ourselves (no TS, bug fix, etc), and the organizations that have thousands of assets will be worth their time. They could restrict the free customers from the cloud (which I don't use and have never seen) so it's not like I'm consuming any of their resources since it all runs on my infrastructure. But, if they decide to stick with this model, I guess I'll be looking to something else this December. What's good - any suggestions?
cswroe
#22cswroe Member Posts: 7  
posted: 5/23/2022 12:48:58 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Firstly, all new licenses and upgrades will tier per 2000 until 10000. However, you purchased your 500 assets before our tiering system was changed. So your subscription will renew next year at its current value

I don’t know what the future will bring of course but for now, I know that your renewal will just be for 500 assets as long as you don’t upgrade your license. You can always cancel your renewal if the pricing over the years will change.

Secondly, We are sorry to learn that you are unhappy about our pricing.
We are rapidly developing the features of our software so our product can keep up with new IT assets and security risks. We believe this new pricing will help us to maintain the data quality of our software and guarantee that you have 100% visibility of your entire IT estate at all times.

As your concerns are important to us, we would like to extend you an invitation to discuss your personal situation in more detail in a conference call. We can set up a Microsoft Teams meeting at a date and time of your choosing. Please let us know when we can contact you.


I know you just posted their reply to you, but this does not explain the punishment being applied to smaller organizations but still allows larger companies to remain unaffected. So we get a pass for the "next year" then if we don't take it, we should just cancel.

I appreciate the Cloud option, but if you are hanging your hat on this "new feature" as justification for sticking it to the little guy(s), you have more faith in that feature than most. It is nice, but not the reason I chose LanSweeper and not something that I find that much value in. In fact, I see it more as a method to combine small sites (that would be less than 100 under your new plan), and eventually come one day and say, "hey, pricing is going to quadruple again since you have a total of cloud assets that exceed our new pricing model".

It is not about the expense of R&D or support, it is that there were smaller organizations, businesses, and companies that have well below the 2,000 assets that previously supported LanSweeper over the years buying and using your product, that are now being unequally targeted in their budgets while the large businesses remain unaffected. If it was true, "new pricing will help us to maintain the data quality of our software and guarantee that you have 100% visibility of your entire IT estate at all times" then it would be applied equally to everyone who is a user regardless of the number of assets, and not just after those between 300-1500 assets.

Thankfully I can renew at the old price this one time, but the next year will be spent evaluating other options. If you want to set up a teams meeting that is fine, my email is in my profile, but unless you are planning on reevaluating your unequal application of the new pricing, it will be in vain.

I would suggest "circling back" and maybe looking at other options, like "across the board" increase or tiered pricing based on total assets. Making money on the backs of smaller companies is not a good look.

As far as options...that is going to be tough as I personally would rather have something on-site rather than hosted. We are looking at a couple of options, but have to verify that they can operate without going off-site. It is going to be difficult to replace LanSweeper, but it has to be done eventually as far as I am concerned. If someone has any suggestions, let us know.
Bill Swezey
#23Bill Swezey Member Posts: 2  
posted: 5/24/2022 5:30:06 PM(UTC)
I just looked again and we have 203 assets with 35 of them being monitors so 168 assets that we are paying $500 for. This is $2.98 per asset per year - which seems somewhat OK. When the price increase kicks in, this will balloon to $11.90 per asset per year - a 4X increase. Someone at Lansweeper is not thinking about their pricing models very deeply. A price per asset makes sense but not $2000 if you have a little over 150 assets. So again I'd like to propose either raising the free tier to something like 500 or 1000 OR put in tiers that make it so small companies don't get hammered. Something like:

0 - 250 FREE
250 - 500 $500
500 - 1000 $1000
1000 - 2000 $1500
2000+ $1 per

Anyway, still looking for good alternatives in case we have to jump ship. Any suggestions community?
vonderau
#24vonderau Member Posts: 3  
posted: 5/28/2022 2:30:04 AM(UTC)
Im sorry to say but I think you are all wasting your time.
Lansweeper seems to have stopped caring about it's customers budgets and is only looking for money.
When they forced us off of a legacy Unlimited Ultimate (this was not a small price increase for us we are a 5000+ asset shop) it was with the promise of new features well i'm still waiting for new features that are actually useful and are not hidden behind additional hidden fees.

We are currently in the process of deemphasizing Lansweeper in our environment and replacing it with tools we already pay for such as System Center or are open source like LibreNMS.


As a side note: Lansweeper the giant notification that can't be turned off at the bottom of my screen telling me that I have used 96% of my asset licenses is super customer friendly.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Version 10.2.0.0
by  _Shawn_   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/1/2022 10:33:33 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Certificates
by  Orion Poplawski  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/1/2022 10:11:12 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Dell warranty lookup not working
by  LANGuy  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/1/2022 1:30:06 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper RedHat 8.5 & SELinux
by  QuelleAcht   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/1/2022 1:16:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Suddenly seeing Access Denied scanning errors?
by  Erik.T  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/1/2022 9:38:17 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Single Line report with H/D
by  Ioannis   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/1/2022 7:53:23 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Dark Theme
by  mrobbins  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/30/2022 5:38:01 PM(UTC)