Deleting assets

You may want to delete certain assets from your Lansweeper database after a while, particularly if those assets have been decommissioned and are no longer on the network. By default, Lansweeper does not remove any previously scanned assets from your database or web console.

You must instruct your Lansweeper installation to remove assets. You can either have automatic cleanups performed or manually remove any unwanted assets from your database and web console.

Automatically deleting unwanted assets

If you are looking to delete assets that have been decommissioned and are no longer present in your network, the easiest way to do this would be through your database cleanup options, found in the web console under Configuration\Server options

Server Options menu
If enabled, most of the cleanup operations are performed when the Lansweeper Server service starts on your Lansweeper server and automatically every 24 hours afterward.

Manually deleting one or more unwanted assets

To manually remove one or more assets from your database and web console, do the following:

  1. Click the Assets link at the top of the web console.
    clicking Assets link
  2. Tick the checkboxes in front of the assets you want to delete.
    deleting assets
    - You can perform a search on one or more columns to easily find specific assets. In the example above, we filtered the Domain column to only list assets within the lansweeper domain.
    - You could also tick the checkbox at the very top to select all assets in the current search results.
  3. Hit the Delete button on the left side of the web console, under Basic Actions
    When you delete an asset, it is removed from your database and web console and any historical information and custom data associated with the asset is lost. This operation cannot be undone without restoring a database backup. Make sure you've selected the correct assets before hitting the Delete button.
    Deleting an asset does not prevent it from being rescanned. If the asset is still present in your network and submitted for scanning under Scanning\Scanning Targets, it will be rescanned and added to the web console again. To prevent the asset from being rescanned, you can exclude it.

Manually deleting a single unwanted asset

To manually remove a single asset from your database and web console, do the following:

  1. Browse to the asset's Lansweeper webpage and hit the Edit asset button on the left side of the web console, under Asset options
    Edit Asset button on asset page
  2. Hit the Delete asset button on the left side of the web console, under Asset options
    Delete Asset button on asset page

Related Articles