Notification

Icon
Error

Microsoft Edge (Chromium) 84.0.522.44

Posted: Friday, July 24, 2020 10:22:19 PM(UTC)
PLSJohnJohn

PLSJohnJohn

Member Original PosterPosts: 4
1
Like
Installs Microsoft Edge (Chromium) on x64 system, and checks for current or newer version before installing.

This will also upgrade older versions if they are present.

One thing to note with Microsoft Edge (Chromium) installers, is they will error if there are Pending Windows Updates. Took me a bit to realize this and figure out why it fails sometimes. If the machine is fully patched, it will install fine. If it is not, it will give a 1603 general error, so keep that in mind.
Microsoft Edge 84.0.522.44Download Package
Description
Final ActionNothing
Max. Duration15 min(s), 0 hour(s)
RescanYes
Steps
1. Chech OS Architecture
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
OS Architecture Is 64 Bit
2. Check MS Edge version
TypeCondition
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureGo To Next
Conditions
File C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Edge\Application\ msedge.exe Has Version Higher Than Or Equal To 84.0.522.40
3. Install Microsoft Edge
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command msiexec.exe /i "{PackageShare}\Installers\Microsoft Edge\84.0.522.44\MicrosoftEdgeEnterpriseX64.msi" /norestart /qn
LS_enthusiast_4444
#1LS_enthusiast_4444 Member Posts: 4  
posted: 1/21/2021 5:18:49 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: PLSJohnJohn Go to Quoted Post
Installs Microsoft Edge (Chromium) on x64 system, and checks for current or newer version before installing.

This will also upgrade older versions if they are present.

One thing to note with Microsoft Edge (Chromium) installers, is they will error if there are Pending Windows Updates. Took me a bit to realize this and figure out why it fails sometimes. If the machine is fully patched, it will install fine. If it is not, it will give a 1603 general error, so keep that in mind.


Thanks very much for sharing this package! I was wondering if you happened to know of a way to also check for the existence of Classic Edge? as a condition to proceed with install.
At the moment, if no instance of Edge Chromium is present then the deployment stops with error "No Return Code".

Thanks!
PLSJohnJohn
#2PLSJohnJohn Member Original PosterPosts: 4  
posted: 1/21/2021 11:46:38 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: LS_enthusiast_4444 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: PLSJohnJohn Go to Quoted Post
Installs Microsoft Edge (Chromium) on x64 system, and checks for current or newer version before installing.

This will also upgrade older versions if they are present.

One thing to note with Microsoft Edge (Chromium) installers, is they will error if there are Pending Windows Updates. Took me a bit to realize this and figure out why it fails sometimes. If the machine is fully patched, it will install fine. If it is not, it will give a 1603 general error, so keep that in mind.


Thanks very much for sharing this package! I was wondering if you happened to know of a way to also check for the existence of Classic Edge? as a condition to proceed with install.
At the moment, if no instance of Edge Chromium is present then the deployment stops with error "No Return Code".

Thanks!


I'm not sure how to check for the classic version of Edge. I don't have any more machines with it installed. I'd guess the .exe or app is located in another directory completely different from where the Edge Chromium installer puts it. Since the classic Edge is basically a Microsoft App store app, you can probably identify where the executable is from Task Manager when it is running. I think you can right-click it and Open Location. I'd assume if the .exe is present in whatever directory that's in, you could use that as your detection rule. Just an idea.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Wake on Lan Issues
by  miharix   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 6:23:13 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Export Ticket List
by  Yassine Dakir  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 12:29:07 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper AWS scanning appears to only cover 1 account
by  Vincent Pollock   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/23/2021 9:26:04 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper TCP 445 to external IP during LS scan?
by  jvogler  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/23/2021 8:02:06 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Use Wildcard for User Name in Allowed Administrator
by  FP  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/22/2021 10:33:25 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdesk report for tickets for all on one reason
by  TimHolmes1973   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/22/2021 7:22:56 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Issues Updating
by  FrankSc  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/22/2021 11:06:50 AM(UTC)