Notification

Icon
Error

Changing DNS Servers via CMD or PowerShell

Posted: Thursday, March 26, 2020 7:19:21 PM(UTC)
Vince

Vince

Member Original PosterPosts: 9
0
Like
A PC at one of our locations is experiencing some issues that I believe to be related to a misconfiguration to the DNS settings. I can ping the PC. The PC can reach our VM's that we have on site here, but it can not open a webpage and I can not establish a TV connection as it shows 'offline' in TV. I've talked to personnel over the phone, we've rebooted the PC several times. I've power cycled the ethernet port, nothing seems to fix the issue. This location is an hour away unfortunately and I don't want to call and give the domain admin/password to anyone on site to be able to change the DNS from the control panel or even run CMD as Administrator. Does anyone know of a script in powershell or CMD that I can run as Administrator as a deployment package that would do the job?? If this post doesn't belong here, I'm sorry in advance.
TheITGuy
#1TheITGuy Member Posts: 32  
posted: 3/31/2020 8:46:06 PM(UTC)
Do you have a Domain controller at this site running dhcp and dns? I would change it there and push it out via group policy.

Can you set up a remote connection and change it yourself?

Can you give the admin password and change it afterwards?

Found this , should work for you.

https://community.spicew...tely-change-dns-settings

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Automated warranty check not working for HP
by  Erik.T   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:40:25 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Guide: Get Every Asset MAC Addresses From Every Subnet
by  Erik.T  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:38:15 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Vcenter Scanning Credential
by  Erik.T   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:33:58 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SCCM Integration
by  Erik.T  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:29:26 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SATA MODE REPORT
by  Erik.T   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:20:37 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Scanning - computer manufacturer shows as VPN though
by  Erik.T  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:14:34 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lastlogon / lastlogondate
by  Erik.T   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:13:16 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SNMP and not in English
by  Erik.T  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:01:56 PM(UTC)