Notification

Icon
Error

Frequent changes between netbios and FQDN

Posted: Wednesday, November 27, 2019 11:06:34 AM(UTC)
JoeBirt

JoeBirt

Member Original PosterPosts: 2
0
Like
Hi,
WE have recently been experiencing a huge number of PCs that are regularly changing their domain name from the NETBIOS name to the Active Directory FQDN name and then back again in LanSweeper, with comments like

21/11/2019 20:45 Renamed DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1 to DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1
21/11/2019 17:23 Renamed DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1 to DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1
21/11/2019 16:45 Renamed DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1 to DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1
21/11/2019 14:22 Renamed DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1 to DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1
21/11/2019 12:44 Renamed DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1 to DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1
21/11/2019 11:06 Renamed DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1 to DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1
21/11/2019 08:44 Renamed DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1 to DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1
21/11/2019 05:06 Renamed DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1 to DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1
21/11/2019 04:44 Renamed DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1 to DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1
21/11/2019 02:06 Renamed DOMAIN\WDBAH28573\1 to DOMAIN.org.tld\wdbah28573.DOMAIN.org.tld\1

The changes from NETBIOS to FQDN seem to be associated with the time of the last Last IP Range Scan, but I cant be sure.

The change from FQDN to NETBIOS seem to be associated with an active scan or a power-on

We switch off most PCs overnight for power saving, so early in the morning as PCs get switched on there are maybe 50 PCs in the FQDN domain, but by the evening there could be a thousand.

The swap temporarily creates a "new" record becasue of the different name. Becasue the NETBIOS and FQDN PCs end up getting merged, the "first seen" date is getting messed up. PCs that are on the network for years are showing a "first seen" date of only a couple of days ago, becasue if the old record gets merged into the new one, the first seen date is taken from the new record

Any ideas to resolve or investigate the root cause would be appreciated
WeatherDave
#1WeatherDave Member Posts: 8  
posted: 12/2/2019 9:26:40 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: JoeBirt Go to Quoted Post
Hi,
WE have recently been experiencing a huge number of PCs that are regularly changing their domain name from the NETBIOS name to the Active Directory FQDN name and then back again in LanSweeper, with comments like

....

Any ideas to resolve or investigate the root cause would be appreciated


Sounds like the same issue others (including us) have been tracking as well. Last word we heard (early Oct) was that the Dev team knows of it, and is working on resolving it.

I'd suggest contacting support for further info.
JoeBirt
#2JoeBirt Member Original PosterPosts: 2  
posted: 12/3/2019 5:32:24 PM(UTC)
Hi,
Reassuring to know it probably isnt something amiss with either our AD or DNS.

Will follow up with support.

Thanks
EStarshinov
#3EStarshinov Member Posts: 17  
posted: 9/15/2020 7:59:49 AM(UTC)
Hi!
How are you dealing with this problem?

Active Discussions

Lansweeper HP Warranty scan - broken for some products
by  TBMPS   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:13:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Assets with different MACs/IPs getting merged
by  MartinO  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 10/23/2020 3:15:25 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Where is Extension Attribute 1
by  CoolDood   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 10/22/2020 8:45:46 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Accessing IMEI/MEID fields for manual assets
by  Tom Londe  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 10/22/2020 5:31:27 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Server 2019 Version Numbers
by  MCBowman  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 10/22/2020 2:35:32 PM(UTC)