Notification

Icon
Error

Not finding some switches on IP range scan

Posted: Wednesday, May 22, 2019 9:45:28 AM(UTC)
acstanley

acstanley

Member Original PosterPosts: 3
0
Like
This issue has been solved! Click here to view the solution
Hi,

I have a network of around 400 devices, Windows computers, cameras, servers, switches etc.

Lansweeper finds the vast majority of the network without any problem, but seems to not find some switches.

For example we have 15 Netgear GS110TP's but only 11 are detected by Lansweeper (all on the same subnet, e.g. 10.0.0.5 detected but 10.0.0.20 not detected). Searching for 10.0.0.20 brings up no results, even after repeatedly scanning the subnet.

Is there any reason why Lansweeper could fail to detect certain specific switches even though they are the same model?

Thank you in advance.
acstanley
#1acstanley Member Original PosterPosts: 3  
posted: 5/22/2019 1:23:36 PM(UTC)
I've just found out what the issue is, the non-found switches in fact aren't GS110TPs, but GS108PEs (and none of the GS108PEs on the network show on Lansweeper).

I assume Lansweeper does not support scanning GS108PEs?
Susan.A
#2Susan.A Member Administration Posts: 1,535  
posted: 6/1/2019 4:45:58 AM(UTC)
If you tick Save Pinged IP for your IP ranges, Lansweeper will create an asset for any device that responds to a ping. Whether or not data can be pulled from the device depends not on the device model, but on the ports/protocols the device has open.

Network devices like switches are preferably scanned using SNMP, as this is the protocol that most devices support and that will return the most data. I recommend that you check your switch documentation and settings to ensure that SNMP is enabled and that you have the correct SNMP credential details. You can then set up an SNMP scan in Lansweeper by following these instructions: https://www.lansweeper.c...o-scan-a-network-device/
acstanley
#3acstanley Member Original PosterPosts: 3  
posted: 6/4/2019 8:50:32 AM(UTC)
It would seem that the GS108PE doesn't support SNMP (as I want to be able to see which devices are connected to the switch), but saving the IPs will be helpful for anyone else who simply wants to track assets.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Asset Value Report
by  RC62N   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 7:12:29 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Display Hyper-V Guest User report
by  GlenTB  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 2:26:15 PM(UTC)
Report Center Windows Defender Antivirus Broken Scan Audit
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 12:18:02 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Reports are empty
by  Mendoza  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 11:12:18 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Custom Helpdesk Report
by  StevoCamaro   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 11:13:05 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Windows 7 EOL
by  RC62N  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 4:42:11 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Drive Encryption statuses
by  DFox   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 12:54:06 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Patch Tuesday report, last 3 months
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 10:55:07 AM(UTC)