Notification

Icon
Error

Adding a SQL Standard DB to an Existing Express install

Posted: Thursday, March 21, 2019 3:30:44 PM(UTC)
Melinda Deering

Melinda Deering

Member Original PosterPosts: 3
0
Like
We stood up a LANSweeper Demo and liked it, but the Express DB isn't going to cut it so I built a SQL Standard server on a different subnet (we put all our SQL stuff on its own subnet). The original LANSweeper box will act as the web front end and I am wondering if I should install the LANSweeper software on the DB first, or rerun the install on the web front end again and choose different options? I hate to lose the stuff we have already scanned and made notes on.

We did purchase a license.
JacobH
#1JacobH Member Posts: 142  
posted: 3/21/2019 4:15:04 PM(UTC)
take a look this link - it's pretty easy to migrate to full SQL

https://www.lansweeper.com/knowl...l-compact-to-sql-server/



Does that answer your question? As long as the scan/main server can access the other Subnet, you're good.
Esben.D
#2Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,551  
posted: 3/21/2019 5:21:44 PM(UTC)
Not sure if by Express he means SQL Compact. The free version of SQL server is SQL Server Express, which is limited to 10GB.

Regardless, if it was compact you can use Jacob's link. Otherwise, its just a simply back up and restore operation DB wise.

You can follow this KB to move your database: https://www.lansweeper.c...e-to-a-different-server/

It's up to you if you also have your scanning server on the DB server or if you use the current server for both the service and the website. Safest thing would be to just take a backup, remove Lansweeper, and reinstall just the components you need.
After that you just have to link them together by connecting them all to the DB.
Melinda Deering
#3Melinda Deering Member Original PosterPosts: 3  
posted: 3/21/2019 8:06:32 PM(UTC)
That looks great, thank you!
Originally Posted by: JacobH Go to Quoted Post
take a look this link - it's pretty easy to migrate to full SQL

https://www.lansweeper.com/knowl...l-compact-to-sql-server/



Does that answer your question? As long as the scan/main server can access the other Subnet, you're good.


Melinda Deering
#4Melinda Deering Member Original PosterPosts: 3  
posted: 3/26/2019 7:10:29 PM(UTC)
This worked pretty well. I was slightly concerned that no lansweeperuser was created but things seem to be working. Thanks all.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Windows Domain Overview report
by  AZHockeyNut   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/19/2019 4:36:26 PM(UTC)
Report Center Internet Explorer Vulnerability
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/18/2019 4:08:50 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper OS: Not latest Build of Windows 10
by  dussan   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/18/2019 9:04:54 AM(UTC)
Report Center Patch Tuesday report, last 3 months
by  Tenacious  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/17/2019 10:46:26 PM(UTC)
Report Center BIOS Type (Legacy or UEFI)
by  manunkind   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/17/2019 8:47:42 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Out of Warranty report with more information
by  Sean m Taylor  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/17/2019 7:32:18 PM(UTC)
Report Center Microsoft Patch Tuesday Report - April 2019
by  joe_user   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/17/2019 4:24:50 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Reporting on a custom Field in Helpdesk
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/17/2019 3:11:45 PM(UTC)