Notification

Icon
Error

Merge Two Assets or Update Based on Serial Number

Posted: Friday, January 23, 2015 8:38:08 PM(UTC)
Matt8

Matt8

Member Original PosterPosts: 13
4
Like
I would love the ability to merge two assets into one. I have a common issue that happens where I create an "offline" (as in not a scannable device) like a printer that isn't networked. I add all the relevant details (serial, name, location, comments). Then in the future, the printer becomes networked - Lansweeper picks it up and adds it a second time.

At this point, I would like to be able to check a box next to each and pick "Merge", where I can select which information to keep from each field if they do not match.

A more powerful suggestion would be have LS do this automatically if the serial numbers match. My only fear with this is the lack of control is choosing how information is overwritten.
Susan.A
#1Susan.A Member Administration Posts: 1,536  
posted: 1/26/2015 2:25:17 PM(UTC)
The ability to manually merge assets has been on our customer wish list for a while, but we have no release date for this feature unfortunately.
Matt8
#2Matt8 Member Original PosterPosts: 13  
posted: 1/26/2015 2:49:24 PM(UTC)
Good to know it is at least on your radar, thanks.
hexoxssaa
#3hexoxssaa Member Posts: 4  
posted: 2/6/2015 11:46:55 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Susan.A Go to Quoted Post
The ability to manually merge assets has been on our customer wish list for a while, but we have no release date for this feature unfortunately.


Hey Susan, Maybe you should consider this post too. serial numbers mentioned above could be other custom attribute too( location, custom UUID etc.)
Susan.A
#4Susan.A Member Administration Posts: 1,536  
posted: 2/9/2015 2:33:36 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: hexoxssaa Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Susan.A Go to Quoted Post
The ability to manually merge assets has been on our customer wish list for a while, but we have no release date for this feature unfortunately.


Hey Susan, Maybe you should consider this post too. serial numbers mentioned above could be other custom attribute too( location, custom UUID etc.)

Replied to the other topic just now. We are unlikely to allow customers to change the internal IDs of scanned assets, as this could lead to all kinds of odd scanning behaviors. Allowing you to merge manually seems preferable.

KeithBecker
#5KeithBecker Member Posts: 8  
posted: 8/5/2020 9:25:16 PM(UTC)
Is this possible yet? or is it still something we are waiting on.


I have duplicate devices and would like a way to merge them.
for instance i have servers that are VMware
the ipscan found the VMware info and the AD scan find the servers....but both are listed as they are the same device.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Show attached USB devices
by  Dannnnooo   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 10:42:17 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Ubiquiti AP Bullet Devices
by  Beta_Tester  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:59:06 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report to find ScanServer 'not working'
by  Rocher Vincent   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:07:26 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Security: HSTS Missing
by  Grey  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:36:49 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Include custom ticket fields as email tags
by  brownscar   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 4:09:02 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SSH - Keyboard Interactive Authentication
by  blackmoonwolf  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 1:21:59 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Dark Theme
by  blackmoonwolf   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 1:18:32 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Drag and Drop Email
by  Chris Durham  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 7:13:09 AM(UTC)