Notification

Icon
Error

Install - Internet Explorer 11 - installs IE 11 if not installed already

Posted: Friday, January 2, 2015 8:33:54 AM(UTC)
Daniel.B

Daniel.B

Member Original PosterPosts: 1,150
2
Like
Check for existing installation and if not found, install IE 11 32-bit or 64-bit version

PackageShare Path (32bit): "{Packageshare}\installers\IE11\IE11-Windows6.1-x86-en-us.exe"
PackageShare Path (64bit): "{Packageshare}\installers\IE11\IE11-Windows6.1-x64-en-us.exe"

Offline installer packages can be downloaded on the Microsoft download page.

Note: This installer will automatically reboot the client computers after running the installer.
Installer - Internet Explorer 11Download Package
DescriptionInstall IE 11 32-bit or (on 64-bit computers) 64-bit version

PackageShare Path (32bit): "{Packageshare}\installers\IE11\IE11-Windows6.1-x86-en-us.exe"
PackageShare Path (64bit): "{Packageshare}\installers\IE11\IE11-Windows6.1-x64-en-us.exe"
Final ActionNothing
Max. Duration20 min(s), 0 hour(s)
RescanNo
Steps
1. Check existing installation
TypeCondition
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureGo To Next
Conditions
File %ProgramFiles%\Internet Explorer\ iexplore.exe Has Version Higher Than Or Equal To 11
Registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer svcVersion Exists
2. Check 64-bit architecture
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 6
FailureGo To Step 3
Conditions
OS Architecture Is 64 Bit
3. Check Package 32-bit
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
File {PackageShare}\Installers\IE11 IE11-Windows6.1-x86-en-us.exe Exists
4. Informing user about installation
TypeCommand
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command msg.exe * Internet Explorer will be installed/upgraded now. Your computer will be automatically restarted after 5-10 minutes.
5. Install 32-bit
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command "{PackageShare}\Installers\IE11\IE11-Windows6.1-x86-en-us.exe" /passive /forcerestart /update-no /no-default
6. Check Package 64-bit
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
File {PackageShare}\Installers\IE11 IE11-Windows6.1-x64-en-us.exe Exists
7. Informing user about installation
TypeCommand
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command msg.exe * Internet Explorer will be installed/upgraded now. Your computer will be automatically restarted after 5-10 minutes.
8. Install 64-bit
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command "{PackageShare}\Installers\IE11\IE11-Windows6.1-x64-en-us.exe" /passive /forcerestart /update-no /no-default
HammettMike
#1HammettMike Member Posts: 44  
posted: 4/3/2015 9:16:05 PM(UTC)
I had to remove the /update-no to get this to actually work. Chances are, if you don't have the latest IE, you're probably not up to date on the prerequisites either.

FYI: This same thing works for IE10 as well, as long as you change out the file names.
spallison
#2spallison Member Posts: 13  
posted: 8/5/2015 9:58:48 AM(UTC)
I could only get this to work also by removing the /update-no, but I get a timeout error and thus no result, did you decrease the 20 minutes to 15?

edit: it works! 15 mins if you remove the /update-no switch
Daniel.B
#3Daniel.B Member Original PosterPosts: 1,150  
posted: 10/13/2015 10:50:51 AM(UTC)
This package indeed won't install hotfixes which are required as pre-requisite as described on this page.

It is possible to automatically install a list of hotfixes using a script. However, we tested this only on our own network and wouldn't post that script here at the moment.
BrianM
#4BrianM Member Posts: 38  
posted: 2/19/2016 8:04:46 PM(UTC)
we have an application that will not work on IE11, these few machines must be on IE10. It is one application (PACSScan) and all have attached scanners. Is there a way to tell it to skip those few machines? Or is there a way to enter the specific PC's to not do the IE11 update?
Susan.A
#5Susan.A Member Administration Posts: 1,536  
posted: 2/21/2016 2:53:12 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: BrianM Go to Quoted Post
we have an application that will not work on IE11, these few machines must be on IE10. It is one application (PACSScan) and all have attached scanners. Is there a way to tell it to skip those few machines? Or is there a way to enter the specific PC's to not do the IE11 update?

You can select the machines to be deployed on when running the package under Deployment\Packages. You can also run the deployment on a report listing machines without the application installed. A sample report can be found here.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Laptop warranty include users from active directory filtered by OU
by  Iyad   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 11:09:27 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Exclude Search
by  pryan67  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:01:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report: All Apple Mac devices with Memory RAM asset
by  gabrielo   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:17:24 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Does technical support for LS really respond?
by  tosch  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 12:48:50 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deployment packages using lsagent
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 11:44:33 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper INFO DateTimeService time refresh
by  ZachO21  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 4:23:15 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdesk tabs always regenarated
by  Carla   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/14/2021 9:49:27 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Importing with user relations
by  teddyh2o  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/14/2021 6:05:46 PM(UTC)