Notification

Icon
Error

All deployments fail - Every deployed package fails

Posted: Monday, March 16, 2020 9:14:49 AM(UTC)
Masterfixedit

Masterfixedit

Member Original PosterPosts: 5
0
Like
Hello,

I want do deploy several packages to our client computers but they all seem to fail with error 1603. The credentials used and tested have domain admin right and local admin rights.
If i test the command locally, it executes and installs. If i test it locally on a client computer without admin rights it also executes but halts and asks for the admin credentials.
Any idea? It's urgent as lots of people will work at home this week because of the corona virus.

Result: Deployment ended: Onherstelbare fout bij installatie. Stop(Failure). Credential: (domain\adminuser). ShareCredential: (domain\adminuser2).
Command: msiexec.exe /i "C:\AeroAdmin.msi" /norestart /qn
CyberCitizen
#1CyberCitizen Member Posts: 342  
posted: 3/17/2020 5:55:38 AM(UTC)
That install command is referncing a local installer C:\AeroAdmin.msi is that in that location on all the machines you are installing to? Ideally it should be stored on a network share accessible by all.

Eg the Lansweeper \\LANSWEEPERSERVER\DefaultPackageShare$\Installers\ etc.
Masterfixedit
#2Masterfixedit Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 3/17/2020 9:58:49 AM(UTC)
Maybe that was a bad example... I tried to start the installation after it was copied to the client but to no avail. If i start it from the DefaultPackageShare$ folder. It still fails.
msiexec.exe /i "\\Lansweeper\DefaultPackageShare$\Installers\readerdc_nl_xa_install.msi" /norestart /qn
CyberCitizen
#3CyberCitizen Member Posts: 342  
posted: 3/17/2020 10:40:20 AM(UTC)
Silly question but were they working previously if so have you attempted to restart the lansweeper service?

Are you using the system account or scanning account?
Masterfixedit
#4Masterfixedit Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 3/18/2020 10:13:09 AM(UTC)
We never used package deployment until now. I have restarted the lansweeper service several times. I could resolve some minor problems with the connections.
Only problem that remains is the error 1603. This is an msi installer error but i can't find why i get this error. Could it have something to do with rebuilding an exe file to an msi file?
Bruce.B
#5Bruce.B Member Administration Posts: 546  
posted: 3/18/2020 10:14:43 PM(UTC)
The error you're currently receiving is a generic MSI installer error and isn't Lansweeper-specific. As a first step I'd recommend trying to run the same command via CMD on a test machine, as it will likely result in the same error, independent of Lansweeper.

The error may be caused by for instance using an invalid MSI, not being able to access the MSI file, not being able to access the folder targeted by the installation, etc.

If you're not receiving the error when running the installer locally via CMD, it may be related to share access.
CyberCitizen
#6CyberCitizen Member Posts: 342  
posted: 3/19/2020 12:19:26 AM(UTC)
Agreed, it could be a Malformed MSI.

Have you tried running the MSI install file in an elevated command prompt using the msiexec /i command?

Did it get the same error?

Are you able to provide a link to the software your attempting to install? Have you tried installing another application that you haven't modified the MSI to confirm if it still works?
Masterfixedit
#7Masterfixedit Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 3/20/2020 9:38:23 AM(UTC)
Hi,

I've got it resolved! Converting an exe to msi is something that lansweeper doesn't like apparently. The msi file installs fine in an elevated command prompt with msiexec /i command.
If I use an original msi file it works perfectly with lansweeper.

So the problem is solved!

Thanks for the advice!
CyberCitizen
#8CyberCitizen Member Posts: 342  
posted: 3/20/2020 10:55:17 AM(UTC)
Yes it's better to not modify MSI files directly but use transform files.
Masterfixedit
#9Masterfixedit Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 3/20/2020 1:37:11 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Yes it's better to not modify MSI files directly but use transform files.


Can you tell me what you mean with transform files?
CyberCitizen
#10CyberCitizen Member Posts: 342  
posted: 3/23/2020 12:09:58 AM(UTC)
Download an application called InstEd.

This will allow you to generate a Transform File against an MSI.

Basically you keep the MSI intact but the Transform Files has all your changes.

For example, here is one of ours for installing TeamViewer v15.

Note I have blurred out some account info.
UserPostedImage

Then when I install the application I just reference that Transform File.

Code:
msiexec.exe /i "{PackageShare}\Teamviewer\MSI\TeamViewer_Host.v15.msi" /norestart /qn TRANSFORMS="{PackageShare}\Teamviewer\MSI\TeamViewer_Host.v15.Settings.mst" 
crashff
#11crashff Member Posts: 72  
posted: 3/26/2020 4:47:53 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Download an application called InstEd.

This will allow you to generate a Transform File against an MSI.

Basically you keep the MSI intact but the Transform Files has all your changes.

For example, here is one of ours for installing TeamViewer v15.


I think you misunderstood what he said. He's not starting from an MSI. He's starting from an EXE - THEN repackaging it as an MSI. The Repackaged MSI installs locally without problems, but will not install through the Lansweeper process.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Close ticket failed
by  JohnnyL   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 6:51:21 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SNMP Asset dont work
by  implenia  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:44:02 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Remote IT Asset MGMT during the Covid-19 Crisis
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 1:14:27 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Unable to transfer user's data prior to removal
by  jbruyet  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/1/2020 11:40:35 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Scanning IP Range Subnet
by  ethanthekiwi   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/1/2020 9:16:35 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Toner Levels Missing
by  brodiemac-too  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/1/2020 8:42:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper WLC 5508 question
by  Faktotum   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/1/2020 1:10:23 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SNMPv3 global credentials ?
by  JeremySG  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/1/2020 9:01:16 AM(UTC)