Notification

Icon
Error

Reinstalling Lansweeper on new computer

Posted: Friday, September 26, 2014 1:31:17 AM(UTC)
MikeInLa

MikeInLa

Member Original PosterPosts: 77
0
Like
This issue has been solved! Click here to view the solution
We need to move Lansweeper to a new computer which will be running Windows 7 Pro. It is currently running on a Windows XP Pro computer. We have an external SQL database that has our Lansweeper data. What steps should we take in moving Lansweeper to the new computer? We are using version 5166. Thanks :)
Lansweeper
#1Lansweeper Member Administration Posts: 13,442  
posted: 9/26/2014 12:23:34 PM(UTC)
Hi,

If you will just be moving the Lansweeper service and web console, do the following:

• Delete or disable the Lansweeper service on your current server.
• Run the script below in the Lansweeper web console under Configuration\Scanning Setup\Database Scripts, replacing NewServer with the NetBIOS name of your new scanning server.

update tsysasservers set servername = 'NewServer'
GO
update tblassets set scanserver = 'NewServer'
GO

• Run the Lansweeper installer on your new server, choose New Installation\Advanced Install and configure the installer exactly as shown below. DO NOT check the checkbox in front of “Lansweeper Database”, or you’ll be overwriting your existing database.

• Point the installer to your existing database when prompted. Connection details can be found in Program Files (x86)\Lansweeper\Service\Lansweeperservice.exe.config on your old scanning server.
• Update the Action Path listed in the Lansweeper web console under Configuration\Website Management\Asset Pages. Your Action Path indicates where the Lansweeper web console will try to locate your custom action executables.
Lansweeper attached the following image(s):
Lansweeper.png
MikeInLa
#2MikeInLa Member Original PosterPosts: 77  
posted: 9/26/2014 4:48:38 PM(UTC)
Thank you, waiting for my new Windows license to come in... will update when I have done this. :)
Charles.X
#3Charles.X Member Administration Posts: 1,172  
posted: 3/9/2018 2:38:30 PM(UTC)
To move Lansweeper to another server, we recommend following this knowledgebase article: https://www.lansweeper.c...to-different-server.html

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Fixing LDAP Error when syncing AD Users
by  ttye   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 10:09:26 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Error saving Tab as Global
by  NeoIsTaken  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:55:49 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper automated reporting scheduler
by  AZHockeyNut   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 7:00:54 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Related KB articles when creating tickets
by  StephanieCDA  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 6:50:51 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Maximum image size location map
by  Charles.X   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:33:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Ticket dispatching rules for web created tickets?
by  Charles.X  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/11/2018 5:49:44 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper User Portal: hide assigned Agent
by  Charles.X   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/11/2018 5:39:56 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper What happens to tickets when users removed?
by  Charles.X  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/11/2018 5:34:31 PM(UTC)