Notification

Icon
Error

uVNC Portable (trying to replace LSRemote) - Don't know why LSRemote was removed. It was SUPER HELPFUL!

Posted: Monday, May 10, 2021 6:02:01 PM(UTC)
Cripple.Zero

Cripple.Zero

Member Original PosterPosts: 46
0
Like
I downloaded a portable version of uVNC viewer (1.2.0.1) from here:
http://www.uvnc.eu/downl...cviewer1201_portable.zip

I renamed the executable to something simple, like VNC.EXE and created an action path for it:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer} -password=xxxxxxxx

All I get is the following error:
"Failed to get server address!"

I adjusted the action and get the same error:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer}

All that works is:
{actionpath}vnc.exe

It then pops up a window in which I manually have to type in the host/PC name.

Is there a way to configure the action path to just pop for a password, but still attempt connection to the host? Normally, I would just insert a default password, but several of our sites have different VNC passwords per site, so I would need the prompt.

I don't have access to the LANSweeper server to perform a full install of any VNC client; that's why I was looking for a standalone (portable) viewer that wouldn't write registry entries, etc.
Cripple.Zero
#1Cripple.Zero Member Original PosterPosts: 46  
posted: 5/11/2021 3:35:45 PM(UTC)
I fixed it!

Granted, all of the PCs in our environment are running uVNC in some form or another; however, the following action fixed what I needed for my specific need:

{actionpath}vnc.exe {computer}

It pops with the credential window and EVERYTHING.

Now, if there was a way to magically make the standalone access ANY pc that DOESN'T have VNC installed, that would be better for others...

However, all that being said, the simple action above proved to work flawlessly!
CyberCitizen
#2CyberCitizen Member Posts: 423  
posted: 6/15/2021 11:40:21 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Cripple.Zero Go to Quoted Post
I downloaded a portable version of uVNC viewer (1.2.0.1) from here:
http://www.uvnc.eu/downl...cviewer1201_portable.zip

I renamed the executable to something simple, like VNC.EXE and created an action path for it:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer} -password=xxxxxxxx

All I get is the following error:
"Failed to get server address!"

I adjusted the action and get the same error:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer}

All that works is:
{actionpath}vnc.exe

It then pops up a window in which I manually have to type in the host/PC name.

Is there a way to configure the action path to just pop for a password, but still attempt connection to the host? Normally, I would just insert a default password, but several of our sites have different VNC passwords per site, so I would need the prompt.

I don't have access to the LANSweeper server to perform a full install of any VNC client; that's why I was looking for a standalone (portable) viewer that wouldn't write registry entries, etc.


Are you able to run the following in a command prompt and connect successfully (vnc.exe -host={computer} -password=xxxxxxxx)

Active Discussions

Lansweeper RPC Unavailable error
by  Greeno   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 7:15:07 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Exclude Search
by  pryan67   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/16/2021 4:01:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report: All Apple Mac devices with Memory RAM asset
by  gabrielo  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/16/2021 3:17:24 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Does technical support for LS really respond?
by  tosch   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/16/2021 12:48:50 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deployment packages using lsagent
by  CyberCitizen  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 11:44:33 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper INFO DateTimeService time refresh
by  ZachO21   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 4:23:15 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdesk tabs always regenarated
by  Carla  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/14/2021 9:49:27 PM(UTC)