Notification

Icon
Error

iPhone bug again???? - Scanning iPhones as network devices

Posted: Tuesday, November 19, 2019 5:55:37 PM(UTC)
Mikey!

Mikey!

Member Original PosterPosts: 20
0
Like
I have iPhones blocked from scanning, but if the scan doesn't see it as an iPhone, then it is not going to skip it. This was fixed once before. What happened? See attached image.

I have to manually delete these because they are scanned as "Network device". And I have much more, this was only one remote site. Its happening in all of them. This elevates my inventory count, thus my license goes breach.

Thank you!

Mike
Mikey! attached the following image(s):
LSW-iPhone.jpg
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,956  
posted: 11/20/2019 11:56:08 AM(UTC)
I'm not sure this is something that can be fixed. I think Lansweeper will only be able to identify iPhones in the subnet of the scanning server. Otherwise, it will only get an IP address. If it can't be identified as an iPhone, it also can't be excluded by excluding iPhones.

The best way to prevent this is to not have "Saved Pinged IP" enabled in your IP Range scanning target options. Or prevent scanning IP ranges with phones on it.
CyberCitizen
#2CyberCitizen Member Posts: 266  
posted: 11/21/2019 12:43:48 AM(UTC)
Could something like this be used to tell it that its an iPhone vs a Network Device.

Is it a new model iPhone that is being picked up or multiple older model devices as well?

https://www.lansweeper.c...ets-asset-type/#heading2
Mikey!
#3Mikey! Member Original PosterPosts: 20  
posted: 11/22/2019 4:11:33 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Esben.D Go to Quoted Post
I think Lansweeper will only be able to identify iPhones in the subnet of the scanning server. Otherwise, it will only get an IP address. If it can't be identified as an iPhone, it also can't be excluded by excluding iPhones.

The best way to prevent this is to not have "Saved Pinged IP" enabled in your IP Range scanning target options. Or prevent scanning IP ranges with phones on it.


Not sure what changed, because it used to identify iPhones. But I will try the uncheck saved pinged IP option to see if it will exclude them.

Thanks!

Mike
cycleheat
#4cycleheat Member Posts: 20  
posted: 11/22/2019 10:20:05 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Esben.D Go to Quoted Post
I think Lansweeper will only be able to identify iPhones in the subnet of the scanning server.


How does it identify iPhones? At https://www.lansweeper.com/asset/ios-device/ it says " The Lansweeper deepscan engine can retrieve basic iOS device information by utilizing iOS-specific ports."

This seems suspect, especially if the device is sleeping.

I would expect all iOS devices to be network unknowns.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper iManage Client deployment
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 3:09:47 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Missing hyperv host details for guest asset LAN-4130
by  danielm  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/7/2019 7:15:56 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper showing MAC address instead of name
by  crashff   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/6/2019 10:26:25 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Dell Warranty Lookup - Incorrect Information
by  Trenton Knew  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/6/2019 10:17:15 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Incoming Email Parse
by  UEFT   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/6/2019 5:46:22 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SSH - Keyboard Interactive Authentication
by  KevinA-REJIS  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/6/2019 5:22:21 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Custom OID Scanning / multible OIDs with wildcards
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/6/2019 11:57:18 AM(UTC)