Notification

Icon
Error

Rename detection if serial is empty - How to resolve rename detection problems if the serial of the asset is empty

Posted: Thursday, July 11, 2019 9:08:05 AM(UTC)
Szilard

Szilard

Member Original PosterPosts: 1
0
Like
For a certain PC manufacturer all devices we run miss serial number in Lansweeper and also retriev empty value if queried using WMI locally. This causes that a new aset is detected each time a device is renamed, as rename detection checks on Model, Serial and MAC. Does anybody have an idea how to overcome this issue? Using wmic to query the devices bios serialnumber and baseboard serialnumber are both empty.

Thank you!
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,930  
posted: 7/12/2019 8:25:59 AM(UTC)
Big pain in the ass, but adding the serial numbers manually would work.

I'm not 100% sure what the behaviour of rename detection is when the serial number is missing. Maybe you can ask support?

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Patch Tuesday report, last 3 months
by  JacobH   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:28:37 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report ALL office (ms officce,libreoffice,openoffice
by  AlexRus227  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:37:07 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Assets Missing Quickfix Data - Last 60 Days
by  Mike6436   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 6:11:30 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper BlueKeep Vulnerability
by  jwood.mls  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:58:59 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper tblCPlogoninfo - None interactive logons?
by  Millslansweeper   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/8/2019 1:32:12 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Software : changes last 24 hours Enhancement
by  RC62N  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/7/2019 10:05:53 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Adding Comments
by  CyberCitizen  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/5/2019 12:28:21 AM(UTC)