Notification

Icon
Error

Rename detection if serial is empty - How to resolve rename detection problems if the serial of the asset is empty

Posted: Thursday, July 11, 2019 9:08:05 AM(UTC)
Szilard

Szilard

Member Original PosterPosts: 1
0
Like
For a certain PC manufacturer all devices we run miss serial number in Lansweeper and also retriev empty value if queried using WMI locally. This causes that a new aset is detected each time a device is renamed, as rename detection checks on Model, Serial and MAC. Does anybody have an idea how to overcome this issue? Using wmic to query the devices bios serialnumber and baseboard serialnumber are both empty.

Thank you!
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,738  
posted: 7/12/2019 8:25:59 AM(UTC)
Big pain in the ass, but adding the serial numbers manually would work.

I'm not 100% sure what the behaviour of rename detection is when the serial number is missing. Maybe you can ask support?

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Uptime incorrect
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:29:08 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Not Saving New Asset
by  Terry1337   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/19/2019 3:52:51 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Email configuration
by  Ian.Prentice  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/19/2019 3:14:04 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper InTune Scanning not showing all devices
by  TBRIT   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/19/2019 3:12:03 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Unique Custom Fields
by  Hendrik.VE  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/19/2019 11:52:35 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Remote Screenshot Folder
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/19/2019 10:24:31 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Enterprise optional?
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/19/2019 10:00:22 AM(UTC)