Notification

Icon
Error

Clients missing specific Office feature

Posted: Wednesday, June 26, 2019 2:54:07 PM(UTC)
MakeBug

MakeBug

Member Original PosterPosts: 53
0
Like
This issue has been solved! Click here to view the solution
So my company is switching our mail-system, before we were using IBM Notes and now we're switching to an exchange environment. Unfortunately this change was rather spontanoeus so we've not prepared the clients for this eventuality.
Basically we want to use Microsoft Outlook now, but there's not a single client where it's actually installed.

This means I have to update all office installations worldwide to include outlook.
Using the built-in customization tool I've managed to create a very simple package that does the deal.

Now I'm looking for a way to deploy this package to all clients, that have Office (in this case Standard 2016) installed, but are missing Outlook.
That's about 1000 clients at the moment so manually deploying it is not an option. Creating all jobs at once would make it impossible to keep an eye over the deployment and deploying it in batches while technically possible would be a real pain for the unfortunate soul who has to do only that for the next months.

So far I've tried to setup file-scanning to search for the outlook-executable, which is actually working fine, however I don't know how/if I can use this information to filter a report.

Any idea?
CyberCitizen
#1CyberCitizen Member Posts: 189  
posted: 6/27/2019 1:09:21 AM(UTC)
Just wanted to clarify what you are wanting to do. Are you wanting to deploy the software or are you after a report to see if office is installed? If it isn't then install Office?
CyberCitizen
#2CyberCitizen Member Posts: 189  
posted: 6/27/2019 1:20:37 AM(UTC)
This is the powershell script to remove the Office Store versions on Windows 10.
Code:
Get-AppxProvisionedPackage -online | %{if ($_.packagename -match "Microsoft.Office.Desktop") {$_ | Remove-AppxProvisionedPackage -AllUsers}}


This is our deployment package for Office 365.
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Package>
  <Name>APP.Microsoft Office 365 - ProPlus (C2R) Install</Name>
  <Description>Office 365 Install</Description>
  <ShutdownOption>0</ShutdownOption>
  <ShutdownTime>0</ShutdownTime>
  <MaxDuration>5400</MaxDuration>
  <Rescan>True</Rescan>
  <RunMode>2</RunMode>
  <Steps>
    <Step>
      <Nr>1</Nr>
      <Name>Remove Office365 Store Versions (All Users)</Name>
      <Type>2</Type>
      <ReturnCodes>0,1641,3010</ReturnCodes>
      <Success>2</Success>
      <Failure>2</Failure>
      <Path></Path>
      <Parameters></Parameters>
      <MSIParameters></MSIParameters>
      <MSIName></MSIName>
      <MSIVersion></MSIVersion>
      <Command>powershell.exe -executionpolicy bypass -file "{PackageShare}\Office 365\2016\OfficeProPlus\RemoveOfficeStoreVersionAllUsers.ps1"</Command>
      <EditMode>False</EditMode>
      <Conditions />
    </Step>
    <Step>
      <Nr>2</Nr>
      <Name>Install O365</Name>
      <Type>2</Type>
      <ReturnCodes>0,1641,3010</ReturnCodes>
      <Success>3</Success>
      <Failure>-3</Failure>
      <Path></Path>
      <Parameters></Parameters>
      <MSIParameters></MSIParameters>
      <MSIName></MSIName>
      <MSIVersion></MSIVersion>
      <Command>"{PackageShare}\Office 365\2016\OfficeProPlus\setup.exe" /configure "{PackageShare}\Office 365\2016\OfficeProPlus\Office365ProPlusInstall - Silent.xml"</Command>
      <EditMode>False</EditMode>
      <Conditions />
    </Step>
    <Step>
      <Nr>3</Nr>
      <Name>Rename Shortcuts</Name>
      <Type>2</Type>
      <ReturnCodes>0,1641,3010</ReturnCodes>
      <Success>-2</Success>
      <Failure>-3</Failure>
      <Path></Path>
      <Parameters></Parameters>
      <MSIParameters></MSIParameters>
      <MSIName></MSIName>
      <MSIVersion></MSIVersion>
      <Command>"{PackageShare}\Office 365\2016\OfficeProPlus\Rename.Office.bat"</Command>
      <EditMode>False</EditMode>
      <Conditions />
    </Step>
  </Steps>
  <SoftwareVersion>7.0.110.2</SoftwareVersion>
</Package>


Last step just renames the shortcuts via a batch file so when we set our start menu configuration it has the correct names for the XML file.

This is our XML file for the Office install.
Code:
<Configuration>
  <Add SourcePath="\\SERVERNAME\Apps$\Office 365\2016\OfficeProPlus" OfficeClientEdition="64" Channel="Current" >
    <Product ID="O365ProPlusRetail">
      <Language ID="en-us" />
    </Product>
  </Add>
  <Display Level="None" AcceptEULA="TRUE" />
  <Logging Name="OfficeSetup.txt" Path="C:\Windows\Temp" />
  <Property Name="AUTOACTIVATE" Value="1" />
  <Property Name="FORCEAPPSHUTDOWN" Value="TRUE" />
  <Updates Enabled="TRUE" Channel="Current" />
</Configuration>
CyberCitizen
#3CyberCitizen Member Posts: 189  
posted: 6/27/2019 1:28:26 AM(UTC)
Sorry, now I understand what your after.

We recently changed our Service Desk tool and we wanted to make sure every computer in our fleet has the new desktop shortcut and any new computer that goes out.

This is the report we have where we check for the file.

Code:
Select Top 1000000 tblAssets.AssetID,
  tblAssets.AssetName,
  tblAssets.IPAddress,
  tblAssets.Lastseen,
  tsysOS.OSname,
  tsysOS.Image As icon,
  tblAssets.Domain,
  tblAssets.Username
From tblAssets
  Inner Join tblAssetCustom On tblAssets.AssetID = tblAssetCustom.AssetID
  Inner Join tsysOS On tblAssets.OScode = tsysOS.OScode
Where tblAssets.AssetID Not In (Select tblFileVersions.AssetID
      From tblFileVersions
      Where
        tblFileVersions.FilePathfull Like
        'C:\Users\Public\Desktop\Service Desk Portal.url' And
        tblFileVersions.Found = 'True') And tblAssetCustom.State = 1
Order By tblAssets.AssetName


Still have to have the custom file scanning on. Now that you have your report looking for in your case the outlook.exe you can then create a scheduled deployment task / package that uses that report. Make sure in your package you include re-scan assets. Basically when your machines are next scanned, if that executable is missing, Lansweeper will run the scheduled deployment to install your package, then re-scan the asset which should drop it off the report.
MakeBug
#4MakeBug Member Original PosterPosts: 53  
posted: 6/27/2019 8:54:28 AM(UTC)
Custom file scanning isn't a problem. I already expected that to be necessary but I didn't know, how you can use the information from the scan in your reports.
Thanks for the help Dancing

So here's the report I'il be using:
Code:
Select Top 1000000 tsysOS.Image As icon,
    tblAssets.AssetID,
    tblAssets.AssetName,
    tblAssets.Username,
    tblAssets.Lastseen
From tblAssets
    Inner Join tblAssetCustom On tblAssets.AssetID = tblAssetCustom.AssetID
    Inner Join tsysOS On tsysOS.OScode = tblAssets.OScode
    Inner Join tblADComputers On tblAssets.AssetID = tblADComputers.AssetID
Where (tsysOS.OSname Like '%Win 7%' Or tsysOS.OSname Like '%Win 10%')
    And tblAssets.AssetID In (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.AssetID
            From tblSoftware Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
            Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Microsoft Office Standard 2016%')
    And tblAssets.AssetID Not In (Select tblFileVersions.AssetID
        From tblFileVersions
        Where tblFileVersions.FilePathfull Like 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office16\OUTLOOK.EXE'
        And tblFileVersions.Found = 'True')
    And tblAssetCustom.State = 1
Order By tblAssets.AssetName


Anyone using the report for himself keep in mind:
- the report shows only Windows 7 and Windows 10 clients. If you want to include other OS, change or remove this part.
- it's created for Office Standard 2016 but I think you can just change the name of the software and the path to the executable.
- don't forget to set up file scanning for the executable and let your assets scan BEFORE you create the report, otherwhise you will have wrong results.
- first time running the report may take a while. If you have over 1000 assets like me the website may even crash a few times. Just let it do it's thing, it will open in the end.
- because basically ALL our clients don't have it installed, my report also includes assets, that don't have any information from the file-scanning on their page yet (not scanned ones, those with scanning errors...). If you want only clients that have been successfully scanned and do not have the executable, use this version of the report instead (small changes but a very different result):
Code:
Select Top 1000000 tsysOS.Image As icon,
	tblAssets.AssetID,
	tblAssets.AssetName,
	tblAssets.Username,
	tblAssets.Lastseen
From tblAssets
	Inner Join tblAssetCustom On tblAssets.AssetID = tblAssetCustom.AssetID
	Inner Join tsysOS On tsysOS.OScode = tblAssets.OScode
	Inner Join tblADComputers On tblAssets.AssetID = tblADComputers.AssetID
Where (tsysOS.OSname Like '%Win 7%' Or tsysOS.OSname Like '%Win 10%')
	And	tblAssets.AssetID In (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.AssetID
			From tblSoftware Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
			Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Microsoft Office Standard 2016%')
	And tblAssets.AssetID In (Select tblFileVersions.AssetID
		From tblFileVersions
		Where tblFileVersions.FilePathfull Like 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office16\OUTLOOK.EXE'
		And tblFileVersions.Found = 'False')
	And tblAssetCustom.State = 1
Order By tblAssets.AssetName

Active Discussions

Lansweeper non-active computer report
by  Apaulcolypse   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/19/2019 5:16:21 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report for showing CPUs below or above
by  GBA Craig  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/18/2019 3:38:41 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Hardware list
by  GBA Craig   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/18/2019 3:34:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Top 10 users submitting tickets
by  LGuth  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/17/2019 9:29:44 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Microsoft Patch Tuesday Report - July 2019
by  Noobmode   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/17/2019 8:48:08 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Custom Scanning - file not existing
by  Bruce Garoutte  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/17/2019 8:19:50 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper MouseJack vulnerability affected devices report
by  Viper   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/16/2019 5:19:14 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper TPM support
by  Sander Eerdekens  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/16/2019 1:38:17 PM(UTC)