Notification

Icon
Error

Adobe Reader DC installation stays in status Preliminary checks complete...

Posted: Thursday, May 9, 2019 11:35:48 AM(UTC)
johanpe

johanpe

Member Original PosterPosts: 5
0
Like
Hi

We've created a package to deploy Adobe Reader DC.
The installation succeeds on the pc, but in the deployment logs, the status stays at:
Preliminary checks complete! Initializing....

The used command is:
{PackageShare}\APPS\AdobeReader\setup.exe /sAll /rs

If we create the package to install via the msi, the package doesn't work, if starts, but doesn't installs it.

All other deploys work normally.

Anybody has an idea?

Thx
CyberCitizen
#1CyberCitizen Member Posts: 196  
posted: 5/13/2019 2:29:32 AM(UTC)
I have no issues, however I am using the MSI as I find you have more control on anything that installs via the MSI.

msiexec.exe /i "{PackageShare}\Adobe\AcroRdrDC1901020099_en_US\AcroRead.msi" /norestart /qn

I can't really help you with using the exe, it could be that the exe isn't reporting an exit code/completion.

You can grab the MSI's from here, and when you push an updated msi, it upgrades etc.

https://get.adobe.com/reader/enterprise/
Esben.D
#2Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,768  
posted: 5/14/2019 12:43:29 PM(UTC)
MSI installers are indeed much easier in most cases.
johanpe
#3johanpe Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 5/14/2019 12:56:35 PM(UTC)
Indeed, on Adobe XI versions, and other deploys we also use the MSI's, but in this case, it wasn't working either.

On the other hand, since yesterday, without any change, it suddenly reports the correct status.
But I have no clue why...
CyberCitizen
#4CyberCitizen Member Posts: 196  
posted: 5/15/2019 12:52:16 AM(UTC)
Maybe the machine required a reboot before task could complete?
johanpe
#5johanpe Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 5/15/2019 6:25:10 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Maybe the machine required a reboot before task could complete?


Hey

I verified this, and that was indeed the case.
Thx!
DATGUY
#6DATGUY Member Posts: 1  
posted: 7/10/2019 1:07:38 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
I have no issues, however I am using the MSI as I find you have more control on anything that installs via the MSI.

msiexec.exe /i "{PackageShare}\Adobe\AcroRdrDC1901020099_en_US\AcroRead.msi" /norestart /qn

I can't really help you with using the exe, it could be that the exe isn't reporting an exit code/completion.

You can grab the MSI's from here, and when you push an updated msi, it upgrades etc.

https://get.adobe.com/reader/enterprise/


Do you have issues with this installing DC 2015?
If i run the Acroread.msi it just installs from the .cab which is the 2015 package, 2019 being the "patch" for 2015.
Can see more info in the setup.ini
Is there a command for the msi to set the patch version when installing?

CyberCitizen
#7CyberCitizen Member Posts: 196  
posted: 7/16/2019 4:44:01 AM(UTC)
Not really sure sorry, I just grab the latest enterprise installer and use that when packaging.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper how to add windows and office licenses manually.
by  cesar.ti   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 7:32:10 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper User roles and permissions
by  RKCar  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 6:23:38 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deployment condition
by  RKCar   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 4:07:30 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper HP Printer not showing correctly
by  JacobH  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 1:32:54 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Moving Assets in Location not Saving
by  brodiemac   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 12:23:04 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Scanning includes IOS devices even though I exclude them??
by  steveb  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/22/2019 11:05:33 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper lsagent not scanning/sending when using relay
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/19/2019 12:31:02 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Check if Netbios is disabled over TCP/IP
by  TaherMD  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/19/2019 6:00:51 AM(UTC)