Notification

Icon
Error

Default Browser and Version

Posted: Monday, February 25, 2019 4:55:19 PM(UTC)
Esben.D

Esben.D

Member Administration Original PosterPosts: 1,982
5
Like
To scan the default browser, you'll first need to scan the correct registry key. Take a look at the "Scanning Registry values" Kb article if you need more information on how to do so.

Make sure the following registry key and value is scanned by Lansweeper:
  • Rootkey: HKEY_CURRENT_USER
  • Regpath: Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\Associations\UrlAssociations\https\UserChoice
  • Regvalue: ProgId
registry key

Once you've rescanned your assets, run the report below. Instructions to add this report to your Lansweeper installation can be found here: https://www.lansweeper.c...How-to-run-a-report.aspx

The report will only provide a browser version for the following browsers:
  • Google Chrome
  • Mozilla Firefox
  • Internet Explorer
  • Opera
  • Safari
If needed, you can modify the report to add support for the browser used in your network.

Code:
Select Distinct Top 1000000 tsysOS.Image As icon,
  tblAssets.AssetID,
  tblAssets.AssetName,
  tblAssets.Domain,
  tblAssets.Username,
  tblAssets.Userdomain,
  tblAssets.IPAddress,
  Case
    When SubQuery1.Valuename Is Not Null And SubQuery1.Valuename <> ''
    Then 'Yes'
    Else 'No'
  End As [Registry Value Found],
  Case
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Chrome%' Then 'Google Chrome'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Firefox%' Then 'Mozilla Firefox'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'AppX%' Then 'Microsoft Edge'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'IE%' Then 'Internet Explorer'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Safari%' Then 'Safari'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Opera%' Then 'Opera'
    Else SubQuery1.Value
  End As [Default Browser],
  Case
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Chrome%' Then ChromeSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Firefox%' Then FirefoxSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'IE%' Then IESubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Safari%' Then SafariSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Opera%' Then OperaSubquery.softwareVersion
    Else ''
  End As [Browser Version],
  tblAssets.Firstseen,
  tblAssets.Lastseen,
  tblAssets.Lasttried,
  TsysLastscan.Lasttime As LastRegistryScan,
  SubQuery1.Lastchanged As LastRegistryChange,
  Case
    When TsysLastscan.Lasttime < GetDate() - 1 Then
      'Last registry scan more than 24 hours ago! Scanned registry information may not be up-to-date. Try rescanning this machine.'
  End As Comment
From tblAssets
  Inner Join tblAssetCustom On tblAssets.AssetID = tblAssetCustom.AssetID
  Inner Join tsysOS On tsysOS.OScode = tblAssets.OScode
  Inner Join TsysLastscan On tblAssets.AssetID = TsysLastscan.AssetID
  Inner Join TsysWaittime On TsysWaittime.CFGCode = TsysLastscan.CFGcode
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblRegistry.AssetID,
        tblRegistry.Regkey,
        tblRegistry.Valuename,
        tblRegistry.Value,
        tblRegistry.Lastchanged
      From tblRegistry
      Where
        tblRegistry.Regkey Like
        '%Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\Associations\UrlAssociations\https\UserChoice' And tblRegistry.Valuename = 'ProgId') SubQuery1 On SubQuery1.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Chrome%') ChromeSubquery On
    ChromeSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Firefox%') FirefoxSubquery On
    FirefoxSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Internet Explorer%') IESubquery On
    IESubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Safari%') SafariSubquery On
    SafariSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Opera%') OperaSubquery On
    OperaSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
Where tblAssetCustom.State = 1 And TsysWaittime.CFGname = 'registry'
Order By tblAssets.Domain,
  tblAssets.AssetName
BES_IT
#1BES_IT Member Posts: 3  
posted: 2/26/2019 10:18:20 AM(UTC)
This also reports Microsoft Edge just without the version number which you didn't mention.
Esben.D
#2Esben.D Member Administration Original PosterPosts: 1,982  
posted: 3/1/2019 9:53:57 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: BES_IT Go to Quoted Post
This also reports Microsoft Edge just without the version number which you didn't mention.


I listed the browsers for which it will provide a version. Since there is no connection between custom registry data and the software data, it has to be matched by name.
Also Edge is not part of the "Add & Remove Software" on Windows, so it's currently not scanned.
Noobmode
#3Noobmode Member Posts: 16  
posted: 3/14/2019 5:18:14 PM(UTC)
FYI, if you use the PolicyPak Browser Router tool to set the default browser, the key that shows up is PPBRNURL. It won't show the desired browser information due to how PolicyPak handles the default browser settings.

https://www.policypak.co...ypak-browser-router.html
hlee@fugro.com
#4hlee@fugro.com Member Posts: 3  
posted: 11/19/2020 3:50:51 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Esben.D Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: BES_IT Go to Quoted Post
This also reports Microsoft Edge just without the version number which you didn't mention.


I listed the browsers for which it will provide a version. Since there is no connection between custom registry data and the software data, it has to be matched by name.
Also Edge is not part of the "Add & Remove Software" on Windows, so it's currently not scanned.


Hi Esben.D, thanks for creating the report! Is it possible to add the new Microsoft Edge Chromium since it is now showing in Add & Remove Software list, with the version number for this report? That would be very helpful. Thanks!
RC62N
#5RC62N Member Posts: 488  
posted: 11/26/2020 8:00:54 PM(UTC)
Based on my inventory Chromium Edge seems to be recorded in Add/Remove Programs, but Legacy Edge isn't, so no joy pulling that without going through some extra gymnastics.

To your question , hlee@fugro.com, adding Microsoft Edge to the recognized list should be straightforward enough.

First, add one more subquery to connect to the Edge version info:
Code:
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName = 'Microsoft Edge') MSEdgeSubquery On
    MSEdgeSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID

(I don't use LIKE '%Microsoft Edge%' because my inventory would return "Microsoft Edge Beta" and "Microsoft Edge Update" as results. The few machines that have Chromium Edge installed show the software name as "Microsoft Edge".)

Now that you're pulling the Microsoft Edge version info, edit the CASE that returns the browser version number and add a reference to MS Edge:
Code:
  Case
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Chrome%' Then ChromeSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Firefox%' Then FirefoxSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'IE%' Then IESubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Safari%' Then SafariSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Opera%' Then OperaSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value = 'Microsoft Edge' Then MSEdgeSubquery.softwareVersion
    Else ''
  End As [Browser Version],

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Software deployment initiated by user
by  LS_enthusiast_4444  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:28:18 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Help Desk not disabling for regular users?
by  FrankSc   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 8:18:38 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Satisfaction Questionnaire after ticket close
by  mouaad  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:31:44 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Microsoft EDGE browser support
by  Vapoured   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:54:30 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Asset Management - Unattached assets
by  MrDiamond  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/25/2020 8:15:16 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Fresh Install Hanging, High CPU, Unusable
by  ebars   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/24/2020 7:53:38 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Forwarding tickets to regular email recipents
by  ChristerT  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/24/2020 9:48:15 AM(UTC)