Notification

Icon
Error

TightVNC Install (MSI Version)

Posted: Monday, April 4, 2016 5:26:00 PM(UTC)
PeterG

PeterG

Member Original PosterPosts: 104
2
Like
Here is my TightVNC Install.. change "mypassword" in the PARAMATERS field to suit your needs. This sets both passwords, admin and logon password.

VALUE_OF_CONTROLPASSWORD=mypassword (is the one for connecting to PC)
VALUE_OF_VIEWONLYPASSWORD=mypassword (is the one for viewing only if you want to make different)
VALUE_OF_PASSWORD=mypassword (is the one for modifying settings.. aka admin password)


Tight VNC InstallDownload Package
Description
Final ActionNothing
Max. Duration15 min(s), 0 hour(s)
RescanYes
Steps
1. Check for x64
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 3
FailureGo To Next
Conditions
OS Architecture Is 64 Bit
2. Check for x86
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 4
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
OS Architecture Is 32 Bit
3. Install TightVNC x64
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command msiexec.exe /i "{PackageShare}installers\tightvnc\tightvnc-2.7.10-setup-64bit.msi" /norestart /qn SET_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_PASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_PASSWORD=mypassword SET_VIEWONLYPASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_VIEWONLYPASSWORD=mypassword SET_USECONTROLAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USECONTROLAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_CONTROLPASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_CONTROLPASSWORD=mypassword
4. Install TightVNC x86
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command msiexec.exe /i "{PackageShare}installers\tightvnc\tightvnc-2.7.10-setup-32bit.msi" /norestart /qn SET_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_PASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_PASSWORD=mypassword SET_VIEWONLYPASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_VIEWONLYPASSWORD=mypassword SET_USECONTROLAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USECONTROLAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_CONTROLPASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_CONTROLPASSWORD=mypassword
spallison
#1spallison Member Posts: 13  
posted: 7/13/2016 2:04:40 PM(UTC)
do you use this instead of the remote control within lansweeper?

the one within which is useful, doesnt refresh and so have to keep pressing refresh
PeterG
#2PeterG Member Original PosterPosts: 104  
posted: 7/13/2016 2:08:49 PM(UTC)
yes we use it instead lansweeper build it solution. This install service on asset machine so its always available.
PaynePDX
#3PaynePDX Member Posts: 3  
posted: 7/26/2017 5:15:14 PM(UTC)
Peter ----

Result: Deployment ended: This installation package could not be opened. Verify that the package exists and that you can access it, or contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows Installer package. Stop(Failure). Credential: (bcc\e137085). ShareCredential: (bcc\e137085).
Command: msiexec.exe /i "\\lgsbackup\DefaultPackageShare$\installers\tightvnc\tightvnc-2.8.8-setup-64bit.msi" /norestart /qn SET_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USEVNCAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_PASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_PASSWORD=***** SET_VIEWONLYPASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_VIEWONLYPASSWORD=******* SET_USECONTROLAUTHENTICATION=1 VALUE_OF_USECONTROLAUTHENTICATION=1 SET_CONTROLPASSWORD=1 VALUE_OF_CONTROLPASSWORD=******

This is the error im getting.

i have the VNC installer packages located in the lansweeper default package installer share folder, my deployment script in the scripts folder.

the install files are the ones downloaded from VNC, they are standard Windows installer package. do they need to be a different format?
PeterG
#4PeterG Member Original PosterPosts: 104  
posted: 7/28/2017 6:16:21 PM(UTC)
try executing the command manually from PC and see if you get same error

msiexec.exe /i "\\lgsbackup\sharename$\installers\tightvnc\tightvnc-2.8.8-setup-64bit.msi" /norestart /qn

it sounds like filename naming or read access permission issues... generally you want to give at least read permissions to whole share.
Michael Murdoch
#5Michael Murdoch Member Alpha Tester Posts: 2  
posted: 8/15/2017 11:09:36 AM(UTC)
Thanks alot for the Installer!

Made an action for it too ( {actionpath}tvnviewer.exe {computer} )

One thing I would like to do, however, is be able for my users to be able to either reject or accept the connection.

Any ideas?
PeterG
#6PeterG Member Original PosterPosts: 104  
posted: 8/15/2017 6:19:28 PM(UTC)
inside configuration you have to setup ACCESS CONTROL (TAB) and ADD IP Rules with "Query Local User" setting.

I believe so its how you use it. Also under "Query Settings" you setup timeout and default action to reject or accept the connection.

There might be a way to do that thru deployment as well as long there are parameters that can be passed over during deployment.

Active Discussions

Report Center Show newly discovered software
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 12:06:21 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Multiple Devices Owned by Users (asset relations)
by  Charles S.  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 9:38:26 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Show Date Without Time
by  RC62N   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 9:04:47 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Windows 10 Version Chart
by  RC62N  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/14/2021 6:16:52 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper LSAgent Report
by  brodiemac-too   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/14/2021 5:27:29 PM(UTC)