Notification

Icon
Error

Installer - Microsoft Office - Performs an unattended deployment of Microsoft Office

Posted: Monday, August 10, 2015 1:30:10 PM(UTC)
Daniel.B

Daniel.B

Member Original PosterPosts: 1,150
4
Like
Microsoft Office provides several methods to prepare unattended installs of the Office suite. This package executes an installer in combination with an admin file which you can generate with the help of the OCT. To prepare this deployment:

  1. Obtain an Office installation medium (DVD, ISO-file)
  2. Mount the installation medium and copy the whole content of it to your Lansweeper package share under folder "\Installers\MS Office\".
  3. Open the "Installers" folder. Hold the Shift key while right-clicking the "MS Office" folder. Select "Open command window here".
  4. In the command prompt, type "setup.exe /admin". This will open the Office Customization Tool (OCT).
  5. Select the Office version to be configured.
  6. Set up your Office installation settings according to your requirements. Details on all possible configuration settings for Office 2013 can be found on this Microsoft page.
  7. Select "File" - "Save as". Store the MSP file in your package share under "\Installers\MS Office\adminfile.msp"
  8. Review and test the deployment package.
Installer - Microsoft OfficeDownload Package
DescriptionPeforms and unattended install of Microsoft Office with adminfile.

Details on how to prepare the adminfile with the help of the Office Customization Tool (OCT) can be found under https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc179097.aspx

This package checks if Office 2010 is already installed. If you install another version, you need to change the condition steps (step 1 and 2).
Final ActionNothing
Max. Duration20 min(s), 0 hour(s)
RescanNo
Steps
1. Check if already installed
TypeCondition
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureGo To Next
Conditions
Registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Office14.PROPLUS UninstallString Exists
2. Check if already installed (6432)
TypeCondition
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureGo To Next
Conditions
Registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Office14.PROPLUS UninstallString Exists
3. Check installer file
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
File {PackageShare}\Installers\MS Office\ setup.exe Exists
4. Install
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command "{PackageShare}\Installers\MS Office\setup.exe" /adminfile "{PackageShare}\Installers\MS Office\adminfile.msp"
westur999
#1westur999 Member Posts: 1  
posted: 10/29/2015 5:16:09 PM(UTC)
I am going to give this a try
markthom87
#2markthom87 Member Posts: 1  
posted: 4/29/2016 2:00:53 PM(UTC)
Changed the script to install ms office only without checking for office 2010, works great :-) Thank you!
fpd2dc
#3fpd2dc Member Posts: 9  
posted: 11/6/2016 3:14:46 PM(UTC)
Has anyone tried this with Office 365?
GaryT
#4GaryT Member Posts: 4  
posted: 12/8/2016 5:38:27 PM(UTC)
Has anyone modified this to install Office 2016?
keys_it
#5keys_it Member Posts: 31  
posted: 12/28/2016 3:48:48 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: fpd2dc Go to Quoted Post
Has anyone tried this with Office 365?


I know this is older, but I created an installer guide for Office 365 ProPlus here:
http://www.lansweeper.com/Forum/yaf_postst14059_Office-365-ProPlus-Installer.aspx#post48805

Prithivi
#6Prithivi Member Posts: 1  
posted: 3/29/2017 11:30:56 AM(UTC)
I am trying to install MS Office 2013 package via Lansweeper. After credential verfied, the progress going on.. but not installing...can someone help me
Lakatta
#7Lakatta Member Alpha Tester Posts: 19  
posted: 3/31/2017 5:23:33 AM(UTC)
This is a good one. Good post.


We wrote a powershell script to do the dirty work for the most part. You will have to change the report location and some variables to where you 32 and 64 bit admin installs are.

Checks for 2016 already installed
Checks 32 or 64 bit architecture
Runs 32 or 64 bit
Rescans computer

We have pre-built dynamic groups, schedules, etc ready to deploy. So when we are given the thumbs up, we check the boxes and pray. It's solid, and be aware sharepoint 2010 easily corrupts and some residual junk doesn't uninstall all the time.

Hope it helps. Rename to .xml and .ps1

ps
It was a quick build due to time frame constraints on another project
Handles attachments
InstallOffice2016x32STAFF.ps1.txt (45kb) downloaded 173 time(s).
InstallOffice2016x64STAFF.ps1.txt (45kb) downloaded 154 time(s).
Uninstall32Office2010.xml.txt (1kb) downloaded 193 time(s).
Uninstall32Office2013.xml.txt (1kb) downloaded 132 time(s).
Lakatta
#8Lakatta Member Alpha Tester Posts: 19  
posted: 3/31/2017 6:16:32 AM(UTC)
and the rest
Handles attachments
Uninstall32PRJPRO2013.xml.txt (1kb) downloaded 85 time(s).
Uninstall32SHAREO2013.xml.txt (1kb) downloaded 69 time(s).
Uninstall32VISPRO2013.xml.txt (1kb) downloaded 78 time(s).
Devin W.
#9Devin W. Member Posts: 11  
posted: 3/30/2020 4:39:28 PM(UTC)
So I know this is an old post, but I am trying to do this with Office 2016. I do not have a registry entry for Office14. Can anyone give some advice on this?
Florian_Eigsi
#10Florian_Eigsi Member Posts: 15  
posted: 3/31/2020 7:29:05 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Devin W. Go to Quoted Post
So I know this is an old post, but I am trying to do this with Office 2016. I do not have a registry entry for Office14. Can anyone give some advice on this?


I don't use registry but check if file exist

"C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE14\Office Setup Controller\setup.exe" or "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE14\Office Setup Controller\setup.exe"
Devin W.
#11Devin W. Member Posts: 11  
posted: 3/31/2020 1:53:31 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Florian_Eigsi Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Devin W. Go to Quoted Post
So I know this is an old post, but I am trying to do this with Office 2016. I do not have a registry entry for Office14. Can anyone give some advice on this?


I don't use registry but check if file exist

"C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE14\Office Setup Controller\setup.exe" or "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE14\Office Setup Controller\setup.exe"


So then when does your uninstall of 2010 take place?
Florian_Eigsi
#12Florian_Eigsi Member Posts: 15  
posted: 4/1/2020 8:42:09 AM(UTC)
So then when does your uninstall of 2010 take place?[/quote wrote:


I can't share my xml here, see screenshot

The 1st check, is a xml file that contain

<Configuration Product="PROPLUS">

<Display Level="non" CompletionNotice="No" SuppressModal="Yes" AcceptEula="Yes" />

<Setting Id="SETUP_REBOOT" Value="Never" />

</Configuration>


And here the command to uninstall

"C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE15\Office Setup Controller\setup.exe" /uninstall PROPLUS /CONFIG {PackageShare}\Base\Ms_Office\PROPLUS.XML

Have the same for VISIO and PROJECT
Florian_Eigsi attached the following image(s):
2020-04-01 09_33_54-Deployment _ Install Packages.jpg
Florian_Eigsi
#13Florian_Eigsi Member Posts: 15  
posted: 4/1/2020 8:57:54 AM(UTC)
Quote:
So then when does your uninstall of 2010 take place?


Forgot Something, when you update Ms Office, you don't need to uninstall it.

Unless you install a 64 bit Ms Office 2016 on 32 bit Office already installed, you have to uninstall it before.

Try setup.exe /admin of your Ms Office installer
Florian_Eigsi attached the following image(s):
deploy-ms-office-2016-silent-using-gpo-oct-remove-older-versions.png
Devin W.
#14Devin W. Member Posts: 11  
posted: 4/1/2020 3:06:47 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Florian_Eigsi Go to Quoted Post
Quote:
So then when does your uninstall of 2010 take place?


Forgot Something, when you update Ms Office, you don't need to uninstall it.

Unless you install a 64 bit Ms Office 2016 on 32 bit Office already installed, you have to uninstall it before.

Try setup.exe /admin of your Ms Office installer


So I believe I have it set up correctly to install/upgrade but I keep getting timeout errors. I have the timeout set for 30 minutes. What could I do differently?
Florian_Eigsi
#15Florian_Eigsi Member Posts: 15  
posted: 4/1/2020 3:27:35 PM(UTC)
Quote:
So I believe I have it set up correctly to install/upgrade but I keep getting timeout errors. I have the timeout set for 30 minutes. What could I do differently?


Do you try it before in commande ligne ?

Change your msp file to see what happen (see screenshot)

You can put this in a .bat file and change .msp file name

"%~dp0\setup.exe" /adminfile ""%~dp0\eigsi_pers.msp"

Florian_Eigsi attached the following image(s):
2020-04-01 16_10_16-pc-florian - Connexion Bureau à distance.jpg
Devin W.
#16Devin W. Member Posts: 11  
posted: 4/1/2020 3:35:08 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Florian_Eigsi Go to Quoted Post
Quote:
So I believe I have it set up correctly to install/upgrade but I keep getting timeout errors. I have the timeout set for 30 minutes. What could I do differently?


Do you try it before in commande ligne ?

Change your msp file to see what happen (see screenshot)

You can put this in a .bat file and change .msp file name

"%~dp0\setup.exe" /adminfile ""%~dp0\eigsi_pers.msp"



So save my file as a .bat? Sorry, I don't have any experience with lansweeper. This is all new to me
Florian_Eigsi
#17Florian_Eigsi Member Posts: 15  
posted: 4/1/2020 3:44:03 PM(UTC)
Quote:
So save my file as a .bat? Sorry, I don't have any experience with lansweeper. This is all new to me


No i would like you to test your install and msp file without lansweeper.


create install.bat with %~dp0\setup.exe" /adminfile ""%~dp0\adminfile.msp in

Where you have your setup for office and your msp file and don't forget to change it to see what happen.

Then launch install.bat, and you will see office installation

Kkadysh
#18Kkadysh Member Posts: 6  
posted: 6/29/2020 10:00:12 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Lakatta Go to Quoted Post
This is a good one. Good post.


We wrote a powershell script to do the dirty work for the most part. You will have to change the report location and some variables to where you 32 and 64 bit admin installs are.

Checks for 2016 already installed
Checks 32 or 64 bit architecture
Runs 32 or 64 bit
Rescans computer

We have pre-built dynamic groups, schedules, etc ready to deploy. So when we are given the thumbs up, we check the boxes and pray. It's solid, and be aware sharepoint 2010 easily corrupts and some residual junk doesn't uninstall all the time.

Hope it helps. Rename to .xml and .ps1





ps
It was a quick build due to time frame constraints on another project


Hi,

I do not understand the ps script txt file.

Do the XML files need to be local on every machine?

it's not possible to put them on the lansweeper share and use them from there?



What does the command out-file \\networkshare\$env:computername.txt -append refers to, does it copy something to each computer from a netowork share?

It seems like a good script but I don't understand many parts of it unfortunately and I do know some power shell.

When using the ODT tool, the installation gets stuck sometimes and times out so I was thinking that maybe your script my be a better solution.
Kkadysh
#19Kkadysh Member Posts: 6  
posted: 6/29/2020 10:04:07 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Florian_Eigsi Go to Quoted Post
So then when does your uninstall of 2010 take place?[/quote wrote:


I can't share my xml here, see screenshot

The 1st check, is a xml file that contain

<Configuration Product="PROPLUS">

<Display Level="non" CompletionNotice="No" SuppressModal="Yes" AcceptEula="Yes" />

<Setting Id="SETUP_REBOOT" Value="Never" />

</Configuration>


And here the command to uninstall

"C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE15\Office Setup Controller\setup.exe" /uninstall PROPLUS /CONFIG {PackageShare}\Base\Ms_Office\PROPLUS.XML

Have the same for VISIO and PROJECT


So the commands actually refer to an xml file located in the package share that uninstalls the programs?

And where is the command to install office 2016, at what point does it happen?
Florian_Eigsi
#20Florian_Eigsi Member Posts: 15  
posted: 6/29/2020 3:33:20 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Kkadysh Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Florian_Eigsi Go to Quoted Post
So then when does your uninstall of 2010 take place?[/quote wrote:


I can't share my xml here, see screenshot

The 1st check, is a xml file that contain

<Configuration Product="PROPLUS">

<Display Level="non" CompletionNotice="No" SuppressModal="Yes" AcceptEula="Yes" />

<Setting Id="SETUP_REBOOT" Value="Never" />

</Configuration>


And here the command to uninstall

"C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE15\Office Setup Controller\setup.exe" /uninstall PROPLUS /CONFIG {PackageShare}\Base\Ms_Office\PROPLUS.XML

Have the same for VISIO and PROJECT


So the commands actually refer to an xml file located in the package share that uninstalls the programs?

And where is the command to install office 2016, at what point does it happen?



Step 4

"{PackageShare}\Installers\MS Office\setup.exe" /adminfile "{PackageShare}\Installers\MS Office\adminfile.msp"

To make your own msp file, you have to execute setup.exe /admin to launch the Microsoft Office Customization Tool

http://www.lansweeper.co...ft-Office.aspx#post62653

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Lost Configuration tab (Admin rights)
by  kspap   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 10:30:12 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deployment with different user rights
by  Jupiter_IT  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 9:39:20 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper cisco fuji device not linking with connected devices
by  char   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:12:07 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Microsoft CVE-2020-1425
by  Richard_B  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/3/2020 4:29:41 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Wake on Lan in VLANs
by  FrankSc   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/3/2020 1:56:46 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Ticket Closed = email to all helpdesk desk agents
by  Laurent Maene  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/3/2020 1:23:49 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdek Call Re-Opened
by  pryan67   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/3/2020 1:12:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Office 365 32bit vs 64bit?
by  brodiemac-too  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/2/2020 10:35:19 PM(UTC)