Notification

Icon
Error

Installer - Java Runtime Environment 8u51 - Deploys Java Runtime Environment

Posted: Wednesday, February 11, 2015 3:06:22 PM(UTC)
Daniel.B

Daniel.B

Member Original PosterPosts: 1,150
9
Like
This package will update/install Java on network computers. You need to download the offline installer from the Java website.
The last step disables auto-updates of Java.

1. Open the Java manual download page and download the Offline installers for Windows (32-bit and 64-bit). Copy these into your Package share under folder "\Installers\Java Runtime Environment 8".

2. Review the package (do use the correct folder and installer file names in the "Check installer file" and "Install" steps)
Installer - Java Runtime Environment 8Download Package
DescriptionInstalls JRE 8

Parameters in the install steps can be changed. More details under http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/silent-136552.html
Final ActionNothing
Max. Duration10 min(s), 0 hour(s)
RescanNo
Steps
1. Check if already installed
TypeCondition
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureGo To Next
Conditions
Registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{26A24AE4-039D-4CA4-87B4-2F83218051F0} DisplayVersion Has Value 8.0.510
2. Check if already installed 6432
TypeCondition
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureGo To Next
Conditions
Registry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{26A24AE4-039D-4CA4-87B4-2F83218051F0} DisplayVersion Has Value 8.0.510
3. Inform user
TypeCommand
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command Msg.exe * Java will get updated now. All browsers will be closed in 15 seconds.
4. Wait 15 seconds
TypeCommand
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command timeout 15 > NUL
5. Close IE
TypeKill Process
Return Codes 0,1641,3010,128
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command taskkill /im iexplore.exe /f
6. Close Firefox
TypeKill Process
Return Codes 0,1641,3010,128
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command taskkill /im firefox.exe /f
7. Close Chrome
TypeKill Process
Return Codes 0,1641,3010,128
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command taskkill /im chrome.exe /f
8. Close Opera
TypeKill Process
Return Codes 0,1641,3010,128
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command taskkill /im opera.exe /f
9. Check system architecture
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 10
FailureGo To Step 12
Conditions
OS Architecture Is 64 Bit
10. Check installer file (x64)
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
File {PackageShare}\Installers\Java Runtime Environment 8\ jre-8u51-windows-x64.exe Exists
11. Install (x64)
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessGo To Step 14
FailureStop (Failure)
Command "{PackageShare}\Installers\Java Runtime Environment 8\jre-8u51-windows-x64.exe" /s /lang=1033
12. Check installer file (x86)
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
File {PackageShare}\Installers\Java Runtime Environment 8\ jre-8u51-windows-i586.exe Exists
13. Install (x86)
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessGo To Next
FailureStop (Failure)
Command "{PackageShare}\Installers\Java Runtime Environment 8\jre-8u51-windows-i586.exe" /s /lang=1033
14. Disable auto update
TypeCommand
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\Java Update\Policy" /V EnableJavaUpdate /T REG_DWORD /D 0 /F & REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\JavaSoft\Java Update\Policy" /V EnableJavaUpdate /T REG_DWORD /D 0 /F
spallison
#1spallison Member Posts: 13  
posted: 8/7/2015 8:07:21 PM(UTC)

a check for if certain version of Java is installed, if not install it, would be nice!

also, it seems to be uninstalling the software on one PC I have, have you come across this before? but it is installed OK

Thanks for the Package
Daniel.B
#2Daniel.B Member Original PosterPosts: 1,150  
posted: 8/10/2015 1:08:59 PM(UTC)
A condition step which looks for the Uninstall registry key of the version to be installed can do this. I modified the package and posted the updated version here.
PeterG
#3PeterG Member Posts: 104  
posted: 8/19/2015 3:59:39 PM(UTC)
Thanks.. I've added extra step to run the file from http://www.lansweeper.co...a-Versions-Silently.aspx to remove old versions.
HammettMike
#4HammettMike Member Posts: 44  
posted: 8/26/2015 9:01:06 PM(UTC)
In the LocalLow folder, the files are now under Oracle instead of Sun.
d0dman
#5d0dman Member Posts: 2  
posted: 12/8/2015 4:16:16 PM(UTC)
I'm having an issue with getting this package to install.

Any time I put in parameters without quotes I receive the following:

Result: Deployment ended: The system cannot find the path specified. Stop(Failure). Credential: (######). ShareCredential: (######).
Command: "\\servername\DefaultPackageShare$\Installers\JavaRE\jre-8u66-windows-i586.exe" /s /lang=1033

However any time I use quotes it opens the install executable (I see it in task manager) and it sits until I kill it (LanSweeper reports a timeout). It seems like it's not recognizing the /s and waiting for a prompt.

Whenever I run the command either way from a command prompt it installs properly.

Thanks for any help!
DanielB
#6DanielB Member Posts: 5  
posted: 12/15/2015 3:31:01 PM(UTC)
I have the same problem with the 32bit version.
The 64bit version works without problems.

doesn't work: "{PackageShare}\Installers\Java\jre-8u66-windows-i586.exe" /s /lang=1031
works: "{PackageShare}\Installers\Java\jre-8u66-windows-x64.exe" /s /lang=1031

And also if I run the 32bit command in cmd it works properly.
d0dman
#7d0dman Member Posts: 2  
posted: 12/15/2015 3:35:42 PM(UTC)
DanielB,

We were able to fix our issue by switching the Run Mode from "System Account" to "Scanning Credentials".

Hope this helps.
DanielB
#8DanielB Member Posts: 5  
posted: 12/15/2015 3:54:22 PM(UTC)
thx... woked for me too...
JWSilver
#9JWSilver Member Posts: 1  
posted: 1/14/2016 8:31:00 PM(UTC)
Thank you d0dman. I was having the following error for the 32 bit : Result: Deployment ended: The system cannot find the path specified. Even though it was the same path as the 64bit version. I changed it to "Scanning Credentials" and it worked.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Laptop warranty include users from active directory filtered by OU
by  Iyad   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 11:09:27 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Exclude Search
by  pryan67  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:01:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report: All Apple Mac devices with Memory RAM asset
by  gabrielo   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:17:24 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Does technical support for LS really respond?
by  tosch  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 12:48:50 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deployment packages using lsagent
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 11:44:33 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper INFO DateTimeService time refresh
by  ZachO21  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/15/2021 4:23:15 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdesk tabs always regenarated
by  Carla   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/14/2021 9:49:27 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Importing with user relations
by  teddyh2o  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/14/2021 6:05:46 PM(UTC)