Notification

Icon
Error

Scanning Android Devices - How to scan Andrdoid Devices...

Posted: Wednesday, September 13, 2017 7:14:09 PM(UTC)
Argon0

Argon0

Member Original PosterPosts: 44
6
Like
So... I have a number of Android devices on my network - the Scanner does find them, but gets no detail from them. (merely id'ing them as Network Devices with name android-3332a2de8320a685.Home or similar....

I've tried some SNMP Agents from Google Play, but got nowhere - any ideas?

Is there a Lansweeper agent for Android (and/or ios)?

Argon0
Bruce.B
#1Bruce.B Member Administration Posts: 574  
posted: 9/14/2017 12:39:15 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper can scan devices that have one of the protocols listed in this article available. Both Android and iOS devices are pretty locked down unfortunately and can't be contacted through any of these protocols. The Android devices that have been scanned in your environment were likely within the same subnet as your scanning server itself. Due to this the MAC address of these devices will have been retrieved from the ARP table of your Lansweeper server. An IP address and MAC address are enough to automatically generate an asset page. For now, the only way to pick up these devices if outside of your Lansweeper server's subnet would be to go to Scanning\Scanning Target and checking the Save Pinged IP option for the IP Range scanning target that covers these devices. This will generate a basic asset page that can be manually completed.

Scanning both iOS and Android devices is something that's already on our wishlist, though this isn't yet in active development. It would likely require some kind of scanning app to be installed on the devices. I've moved this topic to the wishlist section of our forums in this context. At this moment we don't have an estimated release date for this feature.
Argon0
#2Argon0 Member Original PosterPosts: 44  
posted: 9/14/2017 12:43:35 PM(UTC)
Thanks for getting back to swiftly. I'd already come to the same conclusion.

I did look at adding an SNMP agent to my Android devices, but couldn't get that to work - there are a couple of technical studies where people have created and used an SNMP agent on Android, but none (of the three) agents I could find on Play store worked....

Argon0
Argon0
#3Argon0 Member Original PosterPosts: 44  
posted: 9/14/2017 12:46:12 PM(UTC)
Bruce.B
#4Bruce.B Member Administration Posts: 574  
posted: 9/14/2017 12:47:39 PM(UTC)
Thanks for the link, I've forwarded it to our developers, it may come in handy.
it.solvesystem
#5it.solvesystem Member Posts: 1  
posted: 10/20/2017 2:56:24 PM(UTC)
Just to inform, in my case. I would like it for firm's mobiles.

One more user to include on whishlist requests lol...Applause
Rodney Stowell
#6Rodney Stowell Member Posts: 5  
posted: 1/20/2022 4:48:33 PM(UTC)
I myself would love to have this as the company I work for uses RF android based scanners and I really need to be able to track my assets just as easily as i track pcs, printers and servers. I am able to use Ivanti Avalanche for a lot of this but really think this would be a amazing add to your software. We are spending extra money that could be coming to your guys for this and would make Lansweeper more of an all in one. Just a though but please add me to the wish list as well.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper State change
by  siixems   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:53:25 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Memory leak and huge scan time
by  I_just_make_more_updates  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:42:56 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper commitment for Helpdesk?
by  mecha   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 11:03:07 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Router is scanned as webserver
by  Bimal  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 6:39:15 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Unable to back up database
by  Jeff Palmer   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/13/2022 7:07:45 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Add custom values
by  nm169  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/13/2022 4:44:28 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Error: Invalid object name 'tblMonitorUni'
by  WFEC   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/13/2022 3:16:01 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper how to scan intune managed win10 clients?
by  FrankSc  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/13/2022 11:51:15 AM(UTC)