Notification

Icon
Error

uVNC Portable (trying to replace LSRemote) - Don't know why LSRemote was removed. It was SUPER HELPFUL!

Posted: Monday, May 10, 2021 6:02:01 PM(UTC)
Cripple.Zero

Cripple.Zero

Member Original PosterPosts: 49
0
Like
I downloaded a portable version of uVNC viewer (1.2.0.1) from here:
http://www.uvnc.eu/downl...cviewer1201_portable.zip

I renamed the executable to something simple, like VNC.EXE and created an action path for it:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer} -password=xxxxxxxx

All I get is the following error:
"Failed to get server address!"

I adjusted the action and get the same error:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer}

All that works is:
{actionpath}vnc.exe

It then pops up a window in which I manually have to type in the host/PC name.

Is there a way to configure the action path to just pop for a password, but still attempt connection to the host? Normally, I would just insert a default password, but several of our sites have different VNC passwords per site, so I would need the prompt.

I don't have access to the LANSweeper server to perform a full install of any VNC client; that's why I was looking for a standalone (portable) viewer that wouldn't write registry entries, etc.
Cripple.Zero
#1Cripple.Zero Member Original PosterPosts: 49  
posted: 5/11/2021 3:35:45 PM(UTC)
I fixed it!

Granted, all of the PCs in our environment are running uVNC in some form or another; however, the following action fixed what I needed for my specific need:

{actionpath}vnc.exe {computer}

It pops with the credential window and EVERYTHING.

Now, if there was a way to magically make the standalone access ANY pc that DOESN'T have VNC installed, that would be better for others...

However, all that being said, the simple action above proved to work flawlessly!
CyberCitizen
#2CyberCitizen Member Posts: 429  
posted: 6/15/2021 11:40:21 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Cripple.Zero Go to Quoted Post
I downloaded a portable version of uVNC viewer (1.2.0.1) from here:
http://www.uvnc.eu/downl...cviewer1201_portable.zip

I renamed the executable to something simple, like VNC.EXE and created an action path for it:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer} -password=xxxxxxxx

All I get is the following error:
"Failed to get server address!"

I adjusted the action and get the same error:
{actionpath}vnc.exe -host={computer}

All that works is:
{actionpath}vnc.exe

It then pops up a window in which I manually have to type in the host/PC name.

Is there a way to configure the action path to just pop for a password, but still attempt connection to the host? Normally, I would just insert a default password, but several of our sites have different VNC passwords per site, so I would need the prompt.

I don't have access to the LANSweeper server to perform a full install of any VNC client; that's why I was looking for a standalone (portable) viewer that wouldn't write registry entries, etc.


Are you able to run the following in a command prompt and connect successfully (vnc.exe -host={computer} -password=xxxxxxxx)

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Device Duplicates
by  Ian.Prentice   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/23/2021 11:33:00 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Anti-Virus on Mac
by  Ian.Prentice  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/23/2021 9:04:13 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Computers Listed as Users
by  td1020   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/22/2021 5:16:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Can not see second server in error
by  Jürgen  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/22/2021 3:47:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper OU missing
by  Fred   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/22/2021 2:08:05 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Certificate status & end dates
by  VysJamesk  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/22/2021 1:07:02 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper NIST 800-171 Compliance
by  rader  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/20/2021 10:13:17 PM(UTC)