Notification

Icon
Error

Lansweeper Not Opening After Update - Stuck At Updating 1-235

Posted: Monday, September 14, 2020 6:52:38 PM(UTC)
Terry1337

Terry1337

Member Original PosterPosts: 15
1
Like
Hello,

I have been contacting support and did not receive a solution to my updates not completing after the recent upgrade to newest Lansweeper. The only suggestion I received and got to work is uninstalling Lansweeper and Installing a new Lansweeper. I now have an SQL Express install. I saved a copy of my old Lansweeper in a Lansweeper old folder. How do I get the .mdf database into the new SQL database?

Thanks,
Terry
FrankSc
#1FrankSc Member Administration Posts: 55  
posted: 9/15/2020 2:17:44 PM(UTC)
Hi,

If you have an .mdf, you can stop the Lansweeper LocalDB service under Windows Services and then put that file in C:\Program Files (x86)\Lansweeper\SQLData. Then start the service again, this should bring your environment up again.

Terry1337
#2Terry1337 Member Original PosterPosts: 15  
posted: 9/15/2020 2:49:36 PM(UTC)
I only have the Lansweeper Server service. Will that work instead of Lansweeper LocalDB?
Terry1337
#3Terry1337 Member Original PosterPosts: 15  
posted: 9/15/2020 6:59:09 PM(UTC)
I uninstalled the SQL version and did an easy install. When I try to start the program through the web interface I get the updating error again. Sticks on updating 1-245.

Frustrated!!!!!
Terry
jshulenberger
#4jshulenberger Member Posts: 2  
posted: 9/16/2020 6:39:52 PM(UTC)
I had the same issues. It treated me as a new install. Contacting support went nowhere. I was able to go in to the "Lansweeper Config Editor" ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Lansweeper\Tools\ConfigEditor.exe") and change the database server to my SQL instance (on both the Service, and Website tabs), and everything came right up for me.
Terry1337
#5Terry1337 Member Original PosterPosts: 15  
posted: 9/16/2020 6:57:05 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: jshulenberger Go to Quoted Post
I had the same issues. It treated me as a new install. Contacting support went nowhere. I was able to go in to the "Lansweeper Config Editor" ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Lansweeper\Tools\ConfigEditor.exe") and change the database server to my SQL instance (on both the Service, and Website tabs), and everything came right up for me.


I looked in the Configeditor and have the setting Localdb\. \LSInstance in both Services & Website. Which install did you do? When I open the ConfigEditor I receive an error not connecting to the database.

I have been using the free version for years. This is the first time I had issues when doing an update to the program. I have tried several times to uninstall and install a clean version but every time I keep getting the Scripting error.
JSchlackman
#6JSchlackman Member Posts: 15  
posted: 9/22/2020 3:57:30 PM(UTC)
I'm afraid I don't have any insight regarding a fix but for what it's worth I had the exact same problem when updating from 8.0.130.23 to 8.0.130.37 on an SQL install.

After about an hour of fiddling I just restored my server from backup as I couldn't afford the downtime for troubleshooting. I'll be sitting out this version.
Terry1337
#7Terry1337 Member Original PosterPosts: 15  
posted: 9/22/2020 7:36:40 PM(UTC)
I uninstalled Lansweeper then installed version 6 and restored a copy. I then updated to 7.2.108.6. I can now logon on and use the program. I can also go into Tools and Database Maintenance and see the (localdb)\.\LSInstance\lansweeperdb and have a health status. When I try to open Microsoft SQL Management Studio using server name as: (localdb)\.\LSInstance and SQL Server Authentication and my logon to Lansweeper I receive the error:TITLE: Connect to Server


Cannot connect to (localdb)\.\LSInstance.


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 50 - Local Database Runtime error occurred. The specified LocalDB instance does not exist.
) (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: -1983577849)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/...577849&LinkId=20476


BUTTONS:

OK



I checked my services and they are all set to automatic.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Terry

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Lansweeper Not Opening After Update
by  Terry1337   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 7:36:40 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper different outgoing email-address for different teams
by  Brandon  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 7:10:53 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper List all admin accounts with their last logon for all computers
by  LawGar   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:36:22 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Limit Assets for users
by  Maikel Vanroelen  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 2:23:37 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Help Desk not disabling for regular users?
by  EVKazantcev   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:24:25 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper LSPUSH and Group Policy
by  HurricaneDave  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/21/2020 10:15:12 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper How to see additional info columns on Asset Groups
by  virtualnik8   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/21/2020 7:40:41 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Certificate status & end dates
by  doone128  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/21/2020 11:43:46 AM(UTC)