Notification

Icon
Error

Not working Wake on Lan

Posted: Wednesday, August 12, 2020 11:17:33 PM(UTC)
RedWood

RedWood

Member Original PosterPosts: 4
0
Like
I was wondering if someone might have an idea on what might of happen. We are running 8.0.130.20 currently and the Wake on Lan feature is not working. We have not made any changes to the network or server. Couple days ago we have a couple machines turn off. While trying to use the Wake on Lan the workstation would not turn on at all.

After trying different options I went to command line. I copied the WOL to my workstation then ran wol.exe (MAC).
That worked perfect and continue to use it until all the machine were turn on. I been trying to figure out if it's the Lansweeper software, and update, or the server it self.

The server with the Lansweeper and workstation are all on the same network. No changes have been made to the network that I could think of. The only thing I know we done is run the windows update on the server last month. We know Wake on Lan worked because a couple months back when there was a power outage. We had to turn on a couple computers back on.

Any help would be awesome.. Need to make sure this work in case this ever happens again.

Thank you,
RedWood
#1RedWood Member Original PosterPosts: 4  
posted: 8/20/2020 7:45:55 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: RedWood Go to Quoted Post
I was wondering if someone might have an idea on what might of happen. We are running 8.0.130.20 currently and the Wake on Lan feature is not working. We have not made any changes to the network or server. Couple days ago we have a couple machines turn off. While trying to use the Wake on Lan the workstation would not turn on at all.

After trying different options I went to command line. I copied the WOL to my workstation then ran wol.exe (MAC).
That worked perfect and continue to use it until all the machine were turn on. I been trying to figure out if it's the Lansweeper software, and update, or the server it self.

The server with the Lansweeper and workstation are all on the same network. No changes have been made to the network that I could think of. The only thing I know we done is run the windows update on the server last month. We know Wake on Lan worked because a couple months back when there was a power outage. We had to turn on a couple computers back on.

Any help would be awesome.. Need to make sure this work in case this ever happens again.

Thank you,


After reading and trying different things plus help from a different user on here. I was able to get the software to work.
If you notice in your network adapter you will find "Npcap Loopback Adapter". What I did was disable that device then the Wake up Lan in the software worked. The funny thing once I enable it the software still worked. I need to keep testing to make sure leaving it on the Wake on Lan keeps working.
For now best thing to do is disable it.

Thanks for the help.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Show attached USB devices
by  Dannnnooo   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 10:42:17 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Ubiquiti AP Bullet Devices
by  Beta_Tester  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:59:06 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report to find ScanServer 'not working'
by  Rocher Vincent   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:07:26 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Security: HSTS Missing
by  Grey  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:36:49 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Include custom ticket fields as email tags
by  brownscar   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 4:09:02 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SSH - Keyboard Interactive Authentication
by  blackmoonwolf  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 1:21:59 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Dark Theme
by  blackmoonwolf   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 1:18:32 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Drag and Drop Email
by  Chris Durham  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/29/2020 7:13:09 AM(UTC)