Notification

Icon
Error

Assign switch port to location map - Request for better location map

Posted: Friday, April 27, 2018 11:05:25 PM(UTC)
Richard_Lan

Richard_Lan

Member Original PosterPosts: 6
6
Like
Hello,

Location maps are basically useless for anything other than VERY fixed assets.

Currently you assign an asset to spot on the map and it stays there till it is forgotten and then you go to find it and it has moved since it is a slight PITA to update and very manual.

My suggestion to make this perfect would be to allow for switch port mapping to the location map, this would allow for dynamic updates of where devices are based on the location of the switch port they are connected to. From there you would just set it and forget it, all devices would populate based on mac and users would populate based on assignment or last used. Easy peasy!
caverna
#1caverna Member Posts: 23  
posted: 5/2/2018 12:37:10 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Richard_Lan Go to Quoted Post
Hello,
Location maps are basically useless for anything other than VERY fixed assets.


This can solve the monitors location problem too!
Since it could set the desktop location based on switch port location, the monitor location could be set as the same way!!!
This wish, in fact, deserves more attention.
chriseholiver
#2chriseholiver Member Posts: 4  
posted: 5/13/2020 9:14:55 PM(UTC)
Or by department or project.
A way to add an existing report to the Basic Actions.
cycleheat
#3cycleheat Member Posts: 35  
posted: 5/26/2020 5:21:54 PM(UTC)
locations maps also count as an asset.... somehow.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper try to scan for software license and not working?
by  rader   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 4:25:37 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper LsAgent uninstalled itself (Windows 10 Enterprise)
by  LsUsers70  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 3:05:37 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deploying PowerShell script
by  FreddieIT   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 10:57:34 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deploy package - add registry key to HKCU
by  Bginchereau  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 5:26:16 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Duplicate Items
by  Tim Van Engeland   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 2:46:32 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Latest LsAgent version for Windows?
by  mg83  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 11:07:51 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Exchange scanning
by  brama   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 8:56:01 AM(UTC)