Notification

Icon
Error

Database size growing too large

Posted: Wednesday, March 4, 2020 3:17:02 PM(UTC)
Anthony.M

Anthony.M

Member Original PosterPosts: 9
2
Like
My database seems to have grown exponentially over the last few weeks despite not gaining that many new assets:

Microsoft SQL Server 2014 (SP3) (KB4022619) - 12.0.6024.0 (X64) Sep 7 2018 01:37:51 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation Express Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.3 <X64> (Build 18363: )
Database: lansweeperdb
Server: (localdb)\.\LSInstance
Schema Version: 231
Assets: 1603
Size: 8874.50 MB
Unallocated: 351.75 MB

My biggest table is:
Table Total Rows Reserved (KB) Data Size (KB) Index Size (KB) Unused Size (KB)
tblAssetJournal 8698667 7800568 7774576 24728 1264

I have done compact/shrink from database maintenance tool.

Any ideas what has happened?
RKCar
#1RKCar Member Posts: 82  
posted: 3/4/2020 3:45:58 PM(UTC)
Have you queried that table to see what is in there? I found something that said it used with the Enterprise Edition, which I do not have installed.
Anthony.M
#2Anthony.M Member Original PosterPosts: 9  
posted: 3/4/2020 4:13:03 PM(UTC)
I have an extremely limited knowledge of SQL so when I ran a query through Management Studio I didnt see anything offhand I could recognize as an issue.
RKCar
#3RKCar Member Posts: 82  
posted: 3/4/2020 4:39:23 PM(UTC)
Are there timestamps associated to the entries in that table? Maybe you can identify what the entries looked like prior to you noticing this uptick and see if there is something new populating that wasn't previously.

In the end you might have to contact support directly on this one. If it is related to Enterprise they may have made a chance on the cloud side that resulted in additional data populating this table.
GulfMarco
#4GulfMarco Member Posts: 15  
posted: 3/5/2020 3:10:11 AM(UTC)
Mine has, too. Interesting. I'm also trying Enterprise.
chris.anderson
#5chris.anderson Member Posts: 9  
posted: 5/21/2020 4:19:58 PM(UTC)
I ran into the same issue. Though now i have turned off the Enterprise connection but the table still grows like crazy. I just keep having to go in and delete all the records from the table. Not sure why it is still being used if the Enterprise option is turned off.
GulfMarco
#6GulfMarco Member Posts: 15  
posted: 5/21/2020 4:23:47 PM(UTC)
I turned off and deleted the enterprise setup, only then did the database stop growing. Mine never fully sync'ed up, and database grew to 30+ GB weekly or bi-weekly, crashing the servers.
ldockery
#7ldockery Member Posts: 7  
posted: 6/3/2020 3:20:44 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: GulfMarco Go to Quoted Post
I turned off and deleted the enterprise setup, only then did the database stop growing. Mine never fully sync'ed up, and database grew to 30+ GB weekly or bi-weekly, crashing the servers.


How did you delete the enterprise setup?
bladd
#8bladd Member Posts: 4  
posted: 6/5/2020 4:26:44 PM(UTC)
I'm having this same issue, trying to DELETE FROM tblAssetJournal; but it filled up my log disk overnight and failed. Wondering if it's safe to Drop that table completely, have asked support. I can't get the Enterprise options page to come up to disable it either.

Originally Posted by: Anthony.M Go to Quoted Post
My database seems to have grown exponentially over the last few weeks despite not gaining that many new assets:

Microsoft SQL Server 2014 (SP3) (KB4022619) - 12.0.6024.0 (X64) Sep 7 2018 01:37:51 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation Express Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.3 <X64> (Build 18363: )
Database: lansweeperdb
Server: (localdb)\.\LSInstance
Schema Version: 231
Assets: 1603
Size: 8874.50 MB
Unallocated: 351.75 MB

My biggest table is:
Table Total Rows Reserved (KB) Data Size (KB) Index Size (KB) Unused Size (KB)
tblAssetJournal 8698667 7800568 7774576 24728 1264

I have done compact/shrink from database maintenance tool.

Any ideas what has happened?


Dmitry_prg
#9Dmitry_prg Member Posts: 3  
posted: 6/16/2020 8:40:15 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: bladd Go to Quoted Post
I'm having this same issue, trying to DELETE FROM tblAssetJournal; but it filled up my log disk overnight and failed. Wondering if it's safe to Drop that table completely, have asked support. I can't get the Enterprise options page to come up to disable it either.

Originally Posted by: Anthony.M Go to Quoted Post
My database seems to have grown exponentially over the last few weeks despite not gaining that many new assets:

Microsoft SQL Server 2014 (SP3) (KB4022619) - 12.0.6024.0 (X64) Sep 7 2018 01:37:51 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation Express Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.3 <X64> (Build 18363: )
Database: lansweeperdb
Server: (localdb)\.\LSInstance
Schema Version: 231
Assets: 1603
Size: 8874.50 MB
Unallocated: 351.75 MB

My biggest table is:
Table Total Rows Reserved (KB) Data Size (KB) Index Size (KB) Unused Size (KB)
tblAssetJournal 8698667 7800568 7774576 24728 1264

I have done compact/shrink from database maintenance tool.

Any ideas what has happened?




Hello All, have same issue?
Any news how to disable the Enterprise?
bladd
#10bladd Member Posts: 4  
posted: 6/16/2020 8:56:48 PM(UTC)
I was able to disable Enterprise once I ran a SQL query to bring the DB back to a manageable size. If you contact support and give them some details I'm sure they'll give you a query to run against SQL.

Here is where I disabled.

Disable

Originally Posted by: Dmitry_prg Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: bladd Go to Quoted Post
I'm having this same issue, trying to DELETE FROM tblAssetJournal; but it filled up my log disk overnight and failed. Wondering if it's safe to Drop that table completely, have asked support. I can't get the Enterprise options page to come up to disable it either.

Originally Posted by: Anthony.M Go to Quoted Post
My database seems to have grown exponentially over the last few weeks despite not gaining that many new assets:

Microsoft SQL Server 2014 (SP3) (KB4022619) - 12.0.6024.0 (X64) Sep 7 2018 01:37:51 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation Express Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.3 <X64> (Build 18363: )
Database: lansweeperdb
Server: (localdb)\.\LSInstance
Schema Version: 231
Assets: 1603
Size: 8874.50 MB
Unallocated: 351.75 MB

My biggest table is:
Table Total Rows Reserved (KB) Data Size (KB) Index Size (KB) Unused Size (KB)
tblAssetJournal 8698667 7800568 7774576 24728 1264

I have done compact/shrink from database maintenance tool.

Any ideas what has happened?




Hello All, have same issue?
Any news how to disable the Enterprise?


Dmitry_prg
#11Dmitry_prg Member Posts: 3  
posted: 6/16/2020 9:02:12 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: bladd Go to Quoted Post
I was able to disable Enterprise once I ran a SQL query to bring the DB back to a manageable size. If you contact support and give them some details I'm sure they'll give you a query to run against SQL.

Here is where I disabled.

Disable


I cannot go there - website is not responding. Loading and loading
bladd
#12bladd Member Posts: 4  
posted: 6/16/2020 9:04:11 PM(UTC)
That's why you need to get your database fixed first, mine was over 50GB, is now less than 1GB.

Originally Posted by: Dmitry_prg Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: bladd Go to Quoted Post
I was able to disable Enterprise once I ran a SQL query to bring the DB back to a manageable size. If you contact support and give them some details I'm sure they'll give you a query to run against SQL.

Here is where I disabled.

Disable


I cannot go there - website is not responding. Loading and loading


Urmas
#13Urmas Member Posts: 2  
posted: 12/22/2020 3:28:05 PM(UTC)
Have same problem with table tblAssetJournal.
Table | Total Rows | Reserved (KB) | Data Size (KB) | Index Size (KB) | Unused Size (KB)
tblAssetJournal | 23252651 | 8496240 | 8455216 | 39928 | 1096

We don't use enterprise functions and there is no "Enterprise Options" menu item below the "Database Tables".

What do we lose if we just delete everything from this table?

Running version 8.1.110.1
FrankSc
#14FrankSc Member Administration Posts: 139  
posted: 12/23/2020 1:08:23 PM(UTC)
This table only contains data regarding the Enterprise functionality.
You can safely truncate the table, you won't lose information regarding the on-prem installation.

To truncate the table you can use the query below:

Truncate table tblAssetJournal
JTempleton
#15JTempleton Member Posts: 46  
posted: 4/16/2021 5:19:22 PM(UTC)
I am having this issue as well. truncating the table is fine, but how do I disable it once and for all!

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Enterprise Options in Menu Bar/Configuration
by  mk@allan   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/18/2021 7:38:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper No One getting back to me from Lansweeper
by  Kenneth Lindsay  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/18/2021 3:31:06 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper INFO DateTimeService time refresh
by  miharix   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/18/2021 10:48:57 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper RPC Unavailable error
by  Greeno  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/17/2021 7:15:07 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Exclude Search
by  pryan67  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/16/2021 4:01:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report: All Apple Mac devices with Memory RAM asset
by  gabrielo   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/16/2021 3:17:24 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Does technical support for LS really respond?
by  tosch  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 6/16/2021 12:48:50 PM(UTC)