Notification

Icon
Error

iPhone bug again???? - Scanning iPhones as network devices

Posted: Tuesday, November 19, 2019 5:55:37 PM(UTC)
Mikey!

Mikey!

Member Original PosterPosts: 27
0
Like
I have iPhones blocked from scanning, but if the scan doesn't see it as an iPhone, then it is not going to skip it. This was fixed once before. What happened? See attached image.

I have to manually delete these because they are scanned as "Network device". And I have much more, this was only one remote site. Its happening in all of them. This elevates my inventory count, thus my license goes breach.

Thank you!

Mike
Mikey! attached the following image(s):
LSW-iPhone.jpg
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,982  
posted: 11/20/2019 11:56:08 AM(UTC)
I'm not sure this is something that can be fixed. I think Lansweeper will only be able to identify iPhones in the subnet of the scanning server. Otherwise, it will only get an IP address. If it can't be identified as an iPhone, it also can't be excluded by excluding iPhones.

The best way to prevent this is to not have "Saved Pinged IP" enabled in your IP Range scanning target options. Or prevent scanning IP ranges with phones on it.
CyberCitizen
#2CyberCitizen Member Posts: 363  
posted: 11/21/2019 12:43:48 AM(UTC)
Could something like this be used to tell it that its an iPhone vs a Network Device.

Is it a new model iPhone that is being picked up or multiple older model devices as well?

https://www.lansweeper.c...ets-asset-type/#heading2
Mikey!
#3Mikey! Member Original PosterPosts: 27  
posted: 11/22/2019 4:11:33 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Esben.D Go to Quoted Post
I think Lansweeper will only be able to identify iPhones in the subnet of the scanning server. Otherwise, it will only get an IP address. If it can't be identified as an iPhone, it also can't be excluded by excluding iPhones.

The best way to prevent this is to not have "Saved Pinged IP" enabled in your IP Range scanning target options. Or prevent scanning IP ranges with phones on it.


Not sure what changed, because it used to identify iPhones. But I will try the uncheck saved pinged IP option to see if it will exclude them.

Thanks!

Mike
cycleheat
#4cycleheat Member Posts: 34  
posted: 11/22/2019 10:20:05 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Esben.D Go to Quoted Post
I think Lansweeper will only be able to identify iPhones in the subnet of the scanning server.


How does it identify iPhones? At https://www.lansweeper.com/asset/ios-device/ it says " The Lansweeper deepscan engine can retrieve basic iOS device information by utilizing iOS-specific ports."

This seems suspect, especially if the device is sleeping.

I would expect all iOS devices to be network unknowns.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper "add cc user" doesn't show the correct listings
by  JLPingree   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 8:12:44 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Default User Date Format
by  RickW99456  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 5:00:51 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Duplicate assets (Servers)
by  FrankSc   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:20:28 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper load the disk subsystem
by  Alexey Gorbachev  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:13:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lost Configuration tab (Admin rights)
by  kspap   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 10:30:12 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deployment with different user rights
by  Jupiter_IT  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:39:20 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper cisco fuji device not linking with connected devices
by  char   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/5/2020 9:12:07 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Microsoft CVE-2020-1425
by  Richard_B  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/3/2020 4:29:41 PM(UTC)