Notification

Icon
Error

Assets disappearing - Assets disappearing

Posted: Wednesday, April 3, 2019 9:46:44 AM(UTC)
DriesBeweging

DriesBeweging

Member Original PosterPosts: 5
2
Like
This issue has been solved! Click here to view the solution
Hello,

We have noticed that sometimes assets disappear in lansweeper. Mostly VMware persistent VM's, when we do a manual rescan of disappeared asset it adds the asset again in lansweeper. But this is an annoying issue for us since we use a lot of custom fields, when the asset disappears and we do a manual scan to re-add it all the data in these custom fields are gone.

We have the option enabled where assets are permanently deleted if not seen in the last 180 days.
But the assets that disappear are online and scanned atleast twice in a week.

Any idea how this can happen?

Thanks!

Kind regards,
Dries
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,933  
posted: 4/3/2019 2:39:26 PM(UTC)
What version are you on? This kinda sounds like the asset merging bug that was in the initial 7.1 release. Make sure you update to the latest 7.1 version here: https://www.lansweeper.com/update-lansweeper/
DriesBeweging
#2DriesBeweging Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 4/3/2019 3:08:40 PM(UTC)
We are currently running on version 7.1.40.6
Esben.D
#3Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,933  
posted: 4/5/2019 8:23:55 AM(UTC)
I recommend you update then.
DriesBeweging
#4DriesBeweging Member Original PosterPosts: 5  
posted: 4/5/2019 8:33:02 AM(UTC)
When we check for updates, we see "Your lansweeper installation is up to date.":
version
Bellingham Lady
#5Bellingham Lady Member Posts: 4  
posted: 9/10/2019 8:55:12 PM(UTC)
I am on the latest version, 7.2.100.20 and am seeing this behavior. I scan the VCenter server, and everything looks great. I check back later, and all the VMWare information is gone. What is happening?

Beth
RKCar
#6RKCar Member Posts: 47  
posted: 9/11/2019 3:43:55 PM(UTC)
You responded to a post that is a few months old, however I am seeing this as well. I only added our VCenter server a few days ago, but each morning I come in and the data is gone. Have to rescan the VCenter server for it to repopulate. Bug?
Bellingham Lady
#7Bellingham Lady Member Posts: 4  
posted: 9/11/2019 4:20:45 PM(UTC)
Yes, I rescan vCenter, all looks good, and then it soon disappears again. Very annoying! We are doing a demo of the product.
Bart van den Bosch
#8Bart van den Bosch Member Posts: 24  
posted: 9/12/2019 1:40:10 PM(UTC)
Seems we are having the same problem but mostly with laptops disappearing the last 2-3 since we've upgraded to 7.2.100.20 ..
investigating and collecting info. will report when i know more



Bruce.B
#9Bruce.B Member Administration Posts: 537  
posted: 9/12/2019 3:17:41 PM(UTC)
We've identified a few use cases in Lansweeper version 7.2.100.20 where specific Windows computer assets can seem to "disappear". The cause seems to lie with the new Cluster and Hyper-V guest scanning logic.

Our developers are aware of this issue, are treating it as the highest priority and will be adding a fix for this in the first patch we'll release on version 7.2.100. The fix will be part of our changelog when it's added. I can't provide a release date for this currently, but we are looking to add this patch ASAP once it's gone through the development and QA process.
Bellingham Lady
#10Bellingham Lady Member Posts: 4  
posted: 9/12/2019 8:29:46 PM(UTC)
I am glad you found the problem and will keep my eyes open for the fix. Thank you for responding.

Beth
cscherrey
#11cscherrey Member Posts: 19  
posted: 9/13/2019 10:09:21 PM(UTC)
Glad I read this post. I"m seeing laptops disappearing too. By the hundreds. Sucks when you're doing a deployment...
cscherrey
#12cscherrey Member Posts: 19  
posted: 9/16/2019 10:19:03 PM(UTC)
I found a good way to rescan all the disappearing assets, but they get deleted again pretty fast. I have 156 laptops that just keep getting deleted. Any ETA on that fix from Lansweeper?
JacobH
#13JacobH Member Posts: 175  
posted: 9/17/2019 2:52:58 AM(UTC)
following
FatalIll
#14FatalIll Member Posts: 1  
posted: 9/17/2019 3:10:37 PM(UTC)
Really hoping the patch for this comes out soon, my assets are getting all sorts of mangled.
Esben.D
#15Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,933  
posted: 9/17/2019 4:00:32 PM(UTC)
Just wanted to jump in to say we are testing a fix at the moment and we're trying to get it out ASAP.
Bellingham Lady
#16Bellingham Lady Member Posts: 4  
posted: 9/17/2019 4:01:33 PM(UTC)
I have to demo Lansweeper to management next Monday. I hope this is fixed too!
Leeroy_J
#17Leeroy_J Member Posts: 2  
posted: 9/17/2019 6:47:53 PM(UTC)
One thing that helped in our Lansweeper environment was to go to Configuration -> Server Options -> [SCANNING_SERVER] and unchecking 'Windows Renaming Detection' at the bottom for each of our scanning servers.

After doing a full AD and IP Subnet rescan, we haven't lost any assets unexpectedly from our database in several days. However, we do like the Renaming Detection, so hopefully it will work again once the updated code releases.
Ian.Prentice
#18Ian.Prentice Member Posts: 71  
posted: 9/18/2019 11:39:52 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: RKCar Go to Quoted Post
You responded to a post that is a few months old, however I am seeing this as well. I only added our VCenter server a few days ago, but each morning I come in and the data is gone. Have to rescan the VCenter server for it to repopulate. Bug?


I have also experienced this with Hyper-V guest servers in the last few days. servers that have been on it for 3 years are lost, then showing up again as "First seen" date as today.

I am using 7.2.100.20 and am literally updating to 7.2.100.23 as I type to see if the latest update helps.
Leeroy_J
#19Leeroy_J Member Posts: 2  
posted: 9/19/2019 12:44:56 AM(UTC)
I can gladly report that updating to v7.2.100.23 has resolved the issue in our environment. Great job LS team!
Esben.D
#20Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,933  
posted: 9/19/2019 12:30:31 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Leeroy_J Go to Quoted Post
I can gladly report that updating to v7.2.100.23 has resolved the issue in our environment. Great job LS team!


Was just about to post, the issue has been fixed. You can update to the latest version 7.2.100.23 from here: https://www.lansweeper.com/update-lansweeper/

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Hyper-V guests dissapeared and reappeared
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:30:47 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper DB cleanup script
by  William382  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:23:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Installing MS KB with Deploy
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:01:45 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Ticket Info Meter incorrect
by  pfalls  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:27:44 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Asset Checkboxes in reports
by  ufficioced   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 1:22:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Silent "Run as logged in user" option
by  CyberCitizen  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:45:25 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper New ticket creation not emailing the user
by  MVMIC IT LANSWEEPER   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/15/2019 5:36:23 PM(UTC)