Notification

Icon
Error

Copying computer names that include a hyphen

Posted: Wednesday, July 10, 2019 11:20:28 PM(UTC)
rasldasl

rasldasl

Member Original PosterPosts: 13
0
Like
We have a fair number of computers that have a hyphen in the name (example PC-1234). When copying the name from the web console to another program I frequently get white space instead of the name (as if I copied a hidden tab or carriage return). It's also not possible to double-click to copy as it is with a name that's all in one (example PC1234).


rasldasl
#1rasldasl Member Original PosterPosts: 13  
posted: 7/11/2019 12:16:24 AM(UTC)
I probably did not explain this too well. I think the issue is copying, not the hyphen. It's just easier to reliably copy the names without.

When I have to use the mouse to select the name I seem to pick up a formatting character that precedes the name.
Esben.D
#2Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,982  
posted: 7/12/2019 8:30:25 AM(UTC)
I just selected the name of an asset on the asset page and had no issues copying and pasting the name.
rasldasl
#3rasldasl Member Original PosterPosts: 13  
posted: 7/12/2019 4:08:44 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Esben.D Go to Quoted Post
I just selected the name of an asset on the asset page and had no issues copying and pasting the name.


It does not happen to me every time, but often enough to be annoying when I'm doing a lot of copy/pasting of computer names.
CyberCitizen
#4CyberCitizen Member Posts: 354  
posted: 7/16/2019 4:30:25 AM(UTC)
It sounds like you are copying a trailing space, which is not uncommon when copying from a webpage or word document etc.

What I would suggest is if you are doing this regularly is to create a command on the asset page.

Eg I have a button I use which catches the below.

FQDN: PC-00727.DOMAIN.local - IP Address: 10.10.X.XXX

Command Example: cmd.exe /K "set vFQDNandIP=FQDN: {smartname} - IP Address: {ipaddress} & echo %vFQDNandIP%| clip & exit"

Active Discussions

Action Find lost space the easy way (spacesniffer.exe)
by  krozar   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/5/2020 10:27:33 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Querying a web server or web services
by  mmo  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/5/2020 9:00:36 PM(UTC)
Action Password Status
by  brodiemac-too   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/23/2020 9:01:03 PM(UTC)
Action Email user
by  Michael Kop  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/7/2020 11:24:12 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper actualizacion de datos importando csv
by  jhon freddy   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 3/31/2020 9:04:45 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Asset Actions - RunAs Prompt
by  Socal_s197  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 3/26/2020 10:02:16 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Remote Registry 2019
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 3/6/2020 12:25:39 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Installation Parameters
by  Florian_Eigsi  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 3/3/2020 10:17:18 AM(UTC)