Notification

Icon
Error

Rename detection if serial is empty - How to resolve rename detection problems if the serial of the asset is empty

Posted: Thursday, July 11, 2019 9:08:05 AM(UTC)
Szilard

Szilard

Member Original PosterPosts: 1
0
Like
For a certain PC manufacturer all devices we run miss serial number in Lansweeper and also retriev empty value if queried using WMI locally. This causes that a new aset is detected each time a device is renamed, as rename detection checks on Model, Serial and MAC. Does anybody have an idea how to overcome this issue? Using wmic to query the devices bios serialnumber and baseboard serialnumber are both empty.

Thank you!
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,982  
posted: 7/12/2019 8:25:59 AM(UTC)
Big pain in the ass, but adding the serial numbers manually would work.

I'm not 100% sure what the behaviour of rename detection is when the serial number is missing. Maybe you can ask support?

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Understanding current setup
by  ggarcia   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 12:24:42 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Remote desktop custom port
by  sefaucher  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 10:30:49 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Unable to transfer user's data prior to removal
by  RickW99456   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:06:14 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Unable to access the lansweeper consol for other computer
by  Kudnan Ingle  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 7:49:32 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Closing and re-opening of tickets
by  NWHiker   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:42:56 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Wake on Lan Issues
by  woldummy  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:42:07 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deploy and start Software
by  EDV_OHZ   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 12:49:08 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdek Call Re-Opened
by  mouaad  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 7:30:59 AM(UTC)