Notification

Icon
Error

Rename detection if serial is empty - How to resolve rename detection problems if the serial of the asset is empty

Posted: Thursday, July 11, 2019 9:08:05 AM(UTC)
Szilard

Szilard

Member Original PosterPosts: 1
0
Like
For a certain PC manufacturer all devices we run miss serial number in Lansweeper and also retriev empty value if queried using WMI locally. This causes that a new aset is detected each time a device is renamed, as rename detection checks on Model, Serial and MAC. Does anybody have an idea how to overcome this issue? Using wmic to query the devices bios serialnumber and baseboard serialnumber are both empty.

Thank you!
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,895  
posted: 7/12/2019 8:25:59 AM(UTC)
Big pain in the ass, but adding the serial numbers manually would work.

I'm not 100% sure what the behaviour of rename detection is when the serial number is missing. Maybe you can ask support?

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Vmware Vcenter and Hosts not scanning
by  pkamacho   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:33:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdesk Ticket "On-Hold"
by  Chris1052  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 7:44:01 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper SNMPv3 Scanning of Cisco Devices
by  Bruce.B   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 7:40:08 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Object reference not set to an instance of an object
by  Bruce.B   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 6:33:18 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper New Exchange server feature scanning
by  Thomas D.  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:00:51 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper AD Users and email
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 12:40:54 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Looking for a report
by  RC62N  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 6:59:56 PM(UTC)