Notification

Icon
Error

Spare Hard Drives - Howe do you track spare hard drives in inventory

Posted: Friday, June 14, 2019 1:45:35 PM(UTC)
brodiemac

brodiemac

Member Original PosterPosts: 19
0
Like
I have a stock of unused hard drives we keep on hand in case of failure that I would like to keep track of in LANSweeper. Is anyone else doing this and how are you doing it? I'm looking for some tips on the best way to go about this. I already have a spreadsheet with the data to do an import. Just not sure the best way to go about using LANSweeper to do this.
Esben.D
#1Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,768  
posted: 6/19/2019 10:28:57 AM(UTC)
Creating a new asset type for your spare hard drives and just creating custom assets for them works. This way you can also create relations with them once they do get used.
brodiemac
#2brodiemac Member Original PosterPosts: 19  
posted: 6/19/2019 2:32:31 PM(UTC)
The relationship part is interesting. Once they get used, LANSweeper will detect them in the machine. Would they then become a component of the machine and removed from inventory or would LANSweeper merge the two?
AZHockeyNut
#3AZHockeyNut Member Alpha Tester Posts: 231  
posted: 6/19/2019 3:20:40 PM(UTC)
I like this idea for the external usb drives etc. might be wise to order a usb barcode scanner as most of them have some sort of simple barcodes to read and make data entry easier.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper how to add windows and office licenses manually.
by  cesar.ti   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 7:32:10 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper User roles and permissions
by  RKCar  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 6:23:38 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deployment condition
by  RKCar   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 4:07:30 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper HP Printer not showing correctly
by  JacobH  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 1:32:54 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Moving Assets in Location not Saving
by  brodiemac   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/23/2019 12:23:04 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Scanning includes IOS devices even though I exclude them??
by  steveb  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/22/2019 11:05:33 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper lsagent not scanning/sending when using relay
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/19/2019 12:31:02 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Check if Netbios is disabled over TCP/IP
by  TaherMD  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 8/19/2019 6:00:51 AM(UTC)