Notification

Icon
Error

Context in SNMPv3 scanning

Posted: Friday, May 27, 2016 1:32:27 PM(UTC)
techreg

techreg

Member Original PosterPosts: 14
4
Like
Hello,

Would it be possible in a future version to include the specification of the context when dealing with SNMPv3 credentials? Some devices support SNMPv3, but not using the default context used in SMPv3 scanning. For instance, some OKI printers answers to SNMV3 requests only when the "v3context" context is specified.

As it is right now, when I need to query those devices I am forced to use the insecure SNMPv1 protocol.

Also, when no privacy (encryption) is needed, the UI still pretend to have the encryption field filled in.

Thanks,

A.
KyleCascade
#1KyleCascade Member Posts: 8  
posted: 8/19/2016 12:07:58 AM(UTC)
We are running into the same issue with the HP printers. Context needs to be Jetdirect but there is no way to specify this in Lansweeper.
IT Service Desk
#2IT Service Desk Member Posts: 2  
posted: 5/10/2019 1:32:14 PM(UTC)
This is a requirement in our organization, we must use SNMPv3 with "Context", we really need Lansweeper to keep up with security requirements.

Active Discussions

Action Powershell script for WOL on VLAN
by  psmail   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/30/2019 12:00:43 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Fonts
by  TKinnie  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/23/2019 4:00:40 PM(UTC)
Action Schedule Reboot using AT and psshutdown with time input
by  spatchE   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/21/2019 5:35:46 PM(UTC)
Action Open users local Temp directory
by  studerje  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 5/14/2019 7:24:24 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper CMD- CFI MS Update remover 2
by  Rodney Stowell  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/18/2019 6:55:01 PM(UTC)
Action Skype User
by  cctech   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/18/2019 4:14:54 PM(UTC)
Action Email user
by  cctech  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 4/18/2019 3:48:50 PM(UTC)