Notification

Icon
Error

Force Adobe Acrobat Reader/Standard/Pro to update itself - Is there a way to force adobe to search for it's own updates and install them?

Posted: Wednesday, February 20, 2019 7:12:17 PM(UTC)
Apaulcolypse

Apaulcolypse

Member Original PosterPosts: 29
0
Like
I know you can create a deployment package to install a specific version, but is there a way to create a deployment package to push a search for updates (like you would manually under Help > Check for updates) and then install any available updates?
Apaulcolypse
#1Apaulcolypse Member Original PosterPosts: 29  
posted: 3/1/2019 4:42:27 PM(UTC)
Anyone? Is it possible?
CyberCitizen
#2CyberCitizen Member Posts: 307  
posted: 3/20/2019 7:18:30 AM(UTC)
Depends if the users are admin or not, depends on the update method as well, eg Office Click 2 Run can self-update, some applications can, some can't it depends on the application and if you can call the update check.

Most of the time if you are doing software packaging and deployments you are wanting to manage these yourself vs allowing them to auto-update.
Apaulcolypse
#3Apaulcolypse Member Original PosterPosts: 29  
posted: 4/16/2019 10:10:05 PM(UTC)
Makes sense.

So then what about a script that one can manually push with credentials to do a manual task to a select number of computers?



Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Depends if the users are admin or not, depends on the update method as well, eg Office Click 2 Run can self-update, some applications can, some can't it depends on the application and if you can call the update check.

Most of the time if you are doing software packaging and deployments you are wanting to manage these yourself vs allowing them to auto-update.


CyberCitizen
#4CyberCitizen Member Posts: 307  
posted: 4/17/2019 4:31:15 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Apaulcolypse Go to Quoted Post
Makes sense. So then what about a script that one can manually push with credentials to do a manual task to a select number of computers?


Yes but isn't basically what you're doing with pushing the updated installer.

To complete what you're doing you would either do it under the scanning account / system account or the user account. The user account doesn't have admin rights so that won't work. The scanning / system account the user won't be able to see as it runs under a different profile.
Apaulcolypse
#5Apaulcolypse Member Original PosterPosts: 29  
posted: 4/23/2019 3:21:39 PM(UTC)
Yes, so how can I start?

Essentially if adobe is installed in a profile, it's installed on all profiles. So I could run the script remotely and silently via Lansweeper to check if there are any updates, and then if the answer is yes, to run another script to silently install.






Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Apaulcolypse Go to Quoted Post
Makes sense. So then what about a script that one can manually push with credentials to do a manual task to a select number of computers?


Yes but isn't basically what you're doing with pushing the updated installer.

To complete what you're doing you would either do it under the scanning account / system account or the user account. The user account doesn't have admin rights so that won't work. The scanning / system account the user won't be able to see as it runs under a different profile.


Active Discussions

Action PowerShell - Top 10 Memory Hogs
by  iamBaphomet   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/21/2020 3:00:53 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Launch TeamViewer from inside LanSweeper
by  CyberCitizen  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/19/2020 12:16:12 AM(UTC)
Action Email user
by  morpios   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 1/26/2020 10:55:44 AM(UTC)
Action Psexec service delete
by  steveb  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 1/25/2020 12:15:01 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Uninstall Software - Mozilla Firefox
by  Carl_Allen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 1/22/2020 10:44:36 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Installation Parameters
by  PeterG  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 1/8/2020 10:11:51 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper embedded questions
by  mkergan   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/20/2019 5:19:46 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Result: Deployment ended: The environment is incorrect.
by  mkergan  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 12/19/2019 6:31:44 PM(UTC)