Notification

Icon
Error

Force Adobe Acrobat Reader/Standard/Pro to update itself - Is there a way to force adobe to search for it's own updates and install them?

Posted: Wednesday, February 20, 2019 7:12:17 PM(UTC)
Apaulcolypse

Apaulcolypse

Member Original PosterPosts: 25
0
Like
I know you can create a deployment package to install a specific version, but is there a way to create a deployment package to push a search for updates (like you would manually under Help > Check for updates) and then install any available updates?
Apaulcolypse
#1Apaulcolypse Member Original PosterPosts: 25  
posted: 3/1/2019 4:42:27 PM(UTC)
Anyone? Is it possible?
CyberCitizen
#2CyberCitizen Member Posts: 210  
posted: 3/20/2019 7:18:30 AM(UTC)
Depends if the users are admin or not, depends on the update method as well, eg Office Click 2 Run can self-update, some applications can, some can't it depends on the application and if you can call the update check.

Most of the time if you are doing software packaging and deployments you are wanting to manage these yourself vs allowing them to auto-update.
Apaulcolypse
#3Apaulcolypse Member Original PosterPosts: 25  
posted: 4/16/2019 10:10:05 PM(UTC)
Makes sense.

So then what about a script that one can manually push with credentials to do a manual task to a select number of computers?



Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Depends if the users are admin or not, depends on the update method as well, eg Office Click 2 Run can self-update, some applications can, some can't it depends on the application and if you can call the update check.

Most of the time if you are doing software packaging and deployments you are wanting to manage these yourself vs allowing them to auto-update.


CyberCitizen
#4CyberCitizen Member Posts: 210  
posted: 4/17/2019 4:31:15 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: Apaulcolypse Go to Quoted Post
Makes sense. So then what about a script that one can manually push with credentials to do a manual task to a select number of computers?


Yes but isn't basically what you're doing with pushing the updated installer.

To complete what you're doing you would either do it under the scanning account / system account or the user account. The user account doesn't have admin rights so that won't work. The scanning / system account the user won't be able to see as it runs under a different profile.
Apaulcolypse
#5Apaulcolypse Member Original PosterPosts: 25  
posted: 4/23/2019 3:21:39 PM(UTC)
Yes, so how can I start?

Essentially if adobe is installed in a profile, it's installed on all profiles. So I could run the script remotely and silently via Lansweeper to check if there are any updates, and then if the answer is yes, to run another script to silently install.






Originally Posted by: CyberCitizen Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Apaulcolypse Go to Quoted Post
Makes sense. So then what about a script that one can manually push with credentials to do a manual task to a select number of computers?


Yes but isn't basically what you're doing with pushing the updated installer.

To complete what you're doing you would either do it under the scanning account / system account or the user account. The user account doesn't have admin rights so that won't work. The scanning / system account the user won't be able to see as it runs under a different profile.


Active Discussions

Lansweeper Remove all users from old domain
by  cmuter   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 8:03:58 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Static IP Address
by  cycleheat  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 4:07:16 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Bitlocker Encryption Recovery Key no information found
by  Stephane   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 2:26:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper InTune Scanning Issues
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 12:34:59 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Office 365 scanning issues
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/20/2019 12:23:30 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Hard Drive Tracking - Start to Finish
by  Lone Jedi  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 8:11:56 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper Reporting Old Assets as New
by  Jpatterson   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 12:52:14 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Cannot edit a ticket anymore
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 12:32:42 PM(UTC)