Notification

Icon
Error

Winrar 5.7 Install/Update

Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2019 2:31:25 PM(UTC)
Charles.X

Esben.D

Member Administration Original PosterPosts: 1,933
1
Like
Due to the recent vulnerability, I've created a quick deployment package to update or install Winrar to the latest version.
Please note that this is a simple install and I haven't tested it with a licensed version.
Winrar 5.7Download Package
DescriptionDownload the 5.7 installer file here: https://www.rarlab.com/download.htm

Place the installer file(s) in the Packageshare\Installer folder before deploying the package
Final ActionNothing
Max. Duration15 min(s), 0 hour(s)
RescanNo
Steps
1. Windows architecture check
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 3
FailureGo To Step 2
Conditions
OS Architecture Is 32 Bit
2. Check for 32-bit install
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 3
FailureGo To Step 4
Conditions
File C:\Program Files (x86)\WinRAR WinRAR.exe Exists
3. Check for file
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 5
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
File {packageshare}\Installers wrar570.exe Exists
4. Check for file x64
TypeCondition
SuccessGo To Step 6
FailureStop (Failure)
Conditions
File {packageshare}\Installers winrar-x64-570.exe Exists
5. Install x86
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command "{PackageShare}\Installers\wrar570.exe" /s
6. Install x64
TypeInstaller
Return Codes 0,1641,3010
SuccessStop (Success)
FailureStop (Failure)
Command "{PackageShare}\Installers\winrar-x64-570.exe" /s
yayitazale
#1yayitazale Member Posts: 18  
posted: 2/27/2019 4:49:00 PM(UTC)
I'm getting an error:

Result: Deployment ended: Incorrect function. Stop(Failure). Credential: (XXXX\admin). ShareCredential: (XXXX). Command: "\\my-server\DefaultPackageShare$\Installer\winrar-x64-570.exe" /s

and also without the /s

Result: Deployment ended: Incorrect function. Stop(Failure). Credential: (XXXX\admin). ShareCredential: (XXXX). Command: "\\my-server\DefaultPackageShare$\Installer\winrar-x64-570.exe"
OllieM
#2OllieM Member Posts: 3  
posted: 2/27/2019 5:10:06 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: yayitazale Go to Quoted Post
I'm getting an error:

Result: Deployment ended: Incorrect function. Stop(Failure). Credential: (XXXX\admin). ShareCredential: (XXXX). Command: "\\my-server\DefaultPackageShare$\Installer\winrar-x64-570.exe" /s

and also without the /s

Result: Deployment ended: Incorrect function. Stop(Failure). Credential: (XXXX\admin). ShareCredential: (XXXX). Command: "\\my-server\DefaultPackageShare$\Installer\winrar-x64-570.exe"


There's a typo in the 64bit command, there should be an 's' on the end of installer like so:

"{PackageShare}\Installers\winrar-x64-570.exe" /s
Charles.X
#3Esben.D Member Administration Original PosterPosts: 1,933  
posted: 2/27/2019 5:11:10 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: OllieM Go to Quoted Post
There's a typo in the 64bit command, there should be an 's' on the end of installer like so:

"{PackageShare}\Installers\winrar-x64-570.exe" /s


Fixed it and updated the package above. Thanks for letting me know!

TheITGuy
#4TheITGuy Member Posts: 19  
posted: 2/27/2019 9:06:13 PM(UTC)
I would not use the logic in this package.

32 bit winrar can be installed on 64 bit OS's.


What i did was check for the location of the existing install C:\program file, install 64 bit to upgrade, C:\Program Files (x86) , install the 32 bit to upgrade.

It may work just fine, i did not test to see if a 64 bit installer would overwrite and upgrade the 32 installation, if it does , then this logic would be ok.
yayitazale
#5yayitazale Member Posts: 18  
posted: 2/28/2019 9:04:29 AM(UTC)
If anyone wants to automate the deploy against a report:

Code:
Select Top 1000000 tblAssets.AssetID,
  tblAssets.AssetName,
  tblAssets.Domain,
  tsysAssetTypes.AssetTypename As AssetType,
  tblAssets.Username,
  tblAssets.Userdomain,
  tsysAssetTypes.AssetTypeIcon10 As icon,
  tblAssets.IPAddress,
  tsysIPLocations.IPLocation,
  tblAssetCustom.Manufacturer,
  tblAssetCustom.Model,
  tsysOS.OSname As OS,
  tblAssets.SP,
  tblAssets.Lastseen,
  tblAssets.Lasttried,
  tblSoftwareUni.softwareName As Software,
  tblSoftware.softwareVersion As Version,
  tblSoftwareUni.SoftwarePublisher As Publisher,
  tblSoftware.Lastchanged
From tblAssets
  Inner Join tblAssetCustom On tblAssets.AssetID = tblAssetCustom.AssetID
  Inner Join tsysAssetTypes On tsysAssetTypes.AssetType = tblAssets.Assettype
  Inner Join tsysIPLocations On tsysIPLocations.LocationID =
    tblAssets.LocationID
  Inner Join tblState On tblState.State = tblAssetCustom.State
  Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
  Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
  Left Join tsysOS On tsysOS.OScode = tblAssets.OScode
Where (tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%winrar%' And tblSoftware.softwareVersion <
    '5.70') And tblState.Statename = 'Active'
Order By tblAssets.IPAddress Desc
Charles.X
#6Esben.D Member Administration Original PosterPosts: 1,933  
posted: 2/28/2019 5:06:34 PM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: TheITGuy Go to Quoted Post
I would not use the logic in this package.

32 bit winrar can be installed on 64 bit OS's.


What i did was check for the location of the existing install C:\program file, install 64 bit to upgrade, C:\Program Files (x86) , install the 32 bit to upgrade.

It may work just fine, i did not test to see if a 64 bit installer would overwrite and upgrade the 32 installation, if it does , then this logic would be ok.


The Winrar version will not be updated to 64-bit if you have a 32-bit version installed. I've changed the deployment to compensate for this.

If the architecture check now detects a 64-bit OS, it will first do a check to see if a 32-bit installation is installed or not. If it is, it will continue with the 32-bit install flow, otherwise it will do the 64-bit install flow.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper iPhone bug again????
by  Mikey!   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:55:37 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper deploy app that needs License
by  Guaro5555  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 3:03:42 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Scanning FortiAP 221E
by  RKCar   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:59:58 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Hyper-V guests dissapeared and reappeared
by  Cm.Cody   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 11:10:35 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper DB cleanup script
by  William382  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:23:43 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Installing MS KB with Deploy
by  Esben.D   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:01:45 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Ticket Info Meter incorrect
by  pfalls  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 3:27:44 PM(UTC)