Notification

Icon
Error

Default Browser and Version

Posted: Monday, February 25, 2019 4:55:19 PM(UTC)
Charles.X

Esben.D

Member Administration Original PosterPosts: 1,933
2
Like
To scan the default browser, you'll first need to scan the correct registry key. Take a look at the "Scanning Registry values" Kb article if you need more information on how to do so.

Make sure the following registry key and value is scanned by Lansweeper:
  • Rootkey: HKEY_CURRENT_USER
  • Regpath: Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\Associations\UrlAssociations\https\UserChoice
  • Regvalue: ProgId
registry key

Once you've rescanned your assets, run the report below. Instructions to add this report to your Lansweeper installation can be found here: https://www.lansweeper.c...How-to-run-a-report.aspx

The report will only provide a browser version for the following browsers:
  • Google Chrome
  • Mozilla Firefox
  • Internet Explorer
  • Opera
  • Safari
If needed, you can modify the report to add support for the browser used in your network.

Code:
Select Distinct Top 1000000 tsysOS.Image As icon,
  tblAssets.AssetID,
  tblAssets.AssetName,
  tblAssets.Domain,
  tblAssets.Username,
  tblAssets.Userdomain,
  tblAssets.IPAddress,
  Case
    When SubQuery1.Valuename Is Not Null And SubQuery1.Valuename <> ''
    Then 'Yes'
    Else 'No'
  End As [Registry Value Found],
  Case
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Chrome%' Then 'Google Chrome'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Firefox%' Then 'Mozilla Firefox'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'AppX%' Then 'Microsoft Edge'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'IE%' Then 'Internet Explorer'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Safari%' Then 'Safari'
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Opera%' Then 'Opera'
    Else SubQuery1.Value
  End As [Default Browser],
  Case
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Chrome%' Then ChromeSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'Firefox%' Then FirefoxSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like 'IE%' Then IESubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Safari%' Then SafariSubquery.softwareVersion
    When SubQuery1.Value Like '%Opera%' Then OperaSubquery.softwareVersion
    Else ''
  End As [Browser Version],
  tblAssets.Firstseen,
  tblAssets.Lastseen,
  tblAssets.Lasttried,
  TsysLastscan.Lasttime As LastRegistryScan,
  SubQuery1.Lastchanged As LastRegistryChange,
  Case
    When TsysLastscan.Lasttime < GetDate() - 1 Then
      'Last registry scan more than 24 hours ago! Scanned registry information may not be up-to-date. Try rescanning this machine.'
  End As Comment
From tblAssets
  Inner Join tblAssetCustom On tblAssets.AssetID = tblAssetCustom.AssetID
  Inner Join tsysOS On tsysOS.OScode = tblAssets.OScode
  Inner Join TsysLastscan On tblAssets.AssetID = TsysLastscan.AssetID
  Inner Join TsysWaittime On TsysWaittime.CFGCode = TsysLastscan.CFGcode
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblRegistry.AssetID,
        tblRegistry.Regkey,
        tblRegistry.Valuename,
        tblRegistry.Value,
        tblRegistry.Lastchanged
      From tblRegistry
      Where
        tblRegistry.Regkey Like
        '%Software\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\Associations\UrlAssociations\https\UserChoice' And tblRegistry.Valuename = 'ProgId') SubQuery1 On SubQuery1.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Chrome%') ChromeSubquery On
    ChromeSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Firefox%') FirefoxSubquery On
    FirefoxSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Internet Explorer%') IESubquery On
    IESubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Safari%') SafariSubquery On
    SafariSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
  Left Join (Select Top 1000000 tblSoftware.softwareVersion,
        tblAssets.AssetID
      From tblAssets
        Inner Join tblSoftware On tblAssets.AssetID = tblSoftware.AssetID
        Inner Join tblSoftwareUni On tblSoftwareUni.SoftID = tblSoftware.softID
      Where tblSoftwareUni.softwareName Like '%Opera%') OperaSubquery On
    OperaSubquery.AssetID = tblAssets.AssetID
Where tblAssetCustom.State = 1 And TsysWaittime.CFGname = 'registry'
Order By tblAssets.Domain,
  tblAssets.AssetName
BES_IT
#1BES_IT Member Posts: 3  
posted: 2/26/2019 10:18:20 AM(UTC)
This also reports Microsoft Edge just without the version number which you didn't mention.
Charles.X
#2Esben.D Member Administration Original PosterPosts: 1,933  
posted: 3/1/2019 9:53:57 AM(UTC)
Originally Posted by: BES_IT Go to Quoted Post
This also reports Microsoft Edge just without the version number which you didn't mention.


I listed the browsers for which it will provide a version. Since there is no connection between custom registry data and the software data, it has to be matched by name.
Also Edge is not part of the "Add & Remove Software" on Windows, so it's currently not scanned.
Noobmode
#3Noobmode Member Posts: 14  
posted: 3/14/2019 5:18:14 PM(UTC)
FYI, if you use the PolicyPak Browser Router tool to set the default browser, the key that shows up is PPBRNURL. It won't show the desired browser information due to how PolicyPak handles the default browser settings.

https://www.policypak.co...ypak-browser-router.html

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Infopath installer help
by  Dave Ward   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/12/2019 11:16:51 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Remote Registry 2019
by  gareauk  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 10/24/2019 7:33:06 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deploy
by  CyberCitizen   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 10/10/2019 2:31:27 AM(UTC)
Action Backup Computer with Disk2VHD to network share
by  pryan67  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 10/7/2019 3:36:05 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Patton SN4970
by  Randomusername   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/27/2019 6:33:45 PM(UTC)
Action Change Windows domain PC Name
by  max204  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/19/2019 10:28:29 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Launch PowerShell remote PSSession
by  Ian   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/9/2019 12:10:56 PM(UTC)
Action Remote print management
by  CyberCitizen  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 9/4/2019 3:53:00 AM(UTC)