Notification

Icon
Error

Reinstalling Lansweeper on new computer

Posted: Friday, September 26, 2014 1:31:17 AM(UTC)
MikeInLa

MikeInLa

Member Original PosterPosts: 77
0
Like
This issue has been solved! Click here to view the solution
We need to move Lansweeper to a new computer which will be running Windows 7 Pro. It is currently running on a Windows XP Pro computer. We have an external SQL database that has our Lansweeper data. What steps should we take in moving Lansweeper to the new computer? We are using version 5166. Thanks :)
Lansweeper
#1Lansweeper Member Administration Posts: 13,442  
posted: 9/26/2014 12:23:34 PM(UTC)
Hi,

If you will just be moving the Lansweeper service and web console, do the following:

• Delete or disable the Lansweeper service on your current server.
• Run the script below in the Lansweeper web console under Configuration\Scanning Setup\Database Scripts, replacing NewServer with the NetBIOS name of your new scanning server.

update tsysasservers set servername = 'NewServer'
GO
update tblassets set scanserver = 'NewServer'
GO

• Run the Lansweeper installer on your new server, choose New Installation\Advanced Install and configure the installer exactly as shown below. DO NOT check the checkbox in front of “Lansweeper Database”, or you’ll be overwriting your existing database.

• Point the installer to your existing database when prompted. Connection details can be found in Program Files (x86)\Lansweeper\Service\Lansweeperservice.exe.config on your old scanning server.
• Update the Action Path listed in the Lansweeper web console under Configuration\Website Management\Asset Pages. Your Action Path indicates where the Lansweeper web console will try to locate your custom action executables.
Lansweeper attached the following image(s):
Lansweeper.png
MikeInLa
#2MikeInLa Member Original PosterPosts: 77  
posted: 9/26/2014 4:48:38 PM(UTC)
Thank you, waiting for my new Windows license to come in... will update when I have done this. :)
Esben.D
#3Esben.D Member Administration Posts: 1,731  
posted: 3/9/2018 2:38:30 PM(UTC)
To move Lansweeper to another server, we recommend following this knowledgebase article: https://www.lansweeper.c...to-different-server.html

Active Discussions

Lansweeper MouseJack vulnerability affected devices report
by  Viper   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 5:19:14 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper TPM support
by  Sander Eerdekens  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 1:38:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report of all AD users and disabled/enabled status
by  Sandro   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 11:36:49 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper report of workstation with 2nd screen
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/12/2019 12:43:16 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Lansweeper warnings sent to an email
by  MilicaM   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/12/2019 10:36:44 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Number of users in a group
by  matt steele  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/12/2019 10:34:17 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report of assets names behind switches/routers
by  dsimonspan   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/11/2019 10:41:17 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Intel SSD and Processor Diagnostic Tool Vulnerability
by  Esben.D  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 7/11/2019 8:24:34 AM(UTC)