Notification

Icon
Error

Runas Custom Actions

Posted: Friday, April 22, 2011 6:19:20 PM(UTC)
mseymour

mseymour

Member Posts: 1
0
Like
There are a couple of questions out there about how to add runas to a custom action, but I did not see any answers.

So here is how I got run as to work with computer management. There are several variations you can do with this but our need was to run computer manager as the local administrator (this enables us to add the domain admins into the local administrators group).

1. A local admin username and password must be the same on your local computer(where you are executing the runas command) and the computer you are connecting too.

2. Create a custom action with the following command -

runas /user:localadmin "mmc.exe compmgmt.msc /computer:{computer}"

That's it. When you run the custom action, you will be prompted for the password and then a few seconds later computer manager will load for the remote machine.

Once we get the domain admins group added to the local administrators group on all the machines we will change the /user:localadmin to /user:domain\domainadmin.

You should be able to configure most of your custom actions to runas an admin.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Scans do not work after migrating website
by  mpalija   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:39:26 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdesk Feature Requests
by  mdouglas  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 6:54:13 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Tickets
by  sewardcounty   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 6:05:26 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper How to have LANSweeper see an PC in the network?
by  Rick  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:12:55 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Custom Widget How-To out of date
by  MarcStevens   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 5:03:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Installing Lansweeper in two servers
by  servicedesk  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 4:06:42 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Public Report
by  etailz   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 3:54:22 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Can't Figure Out How To Add AD Users In Lansweeper
by  oagtexas  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 3:27:22 PM(UTC)