Notification

Icon
Error

Runas Custom Actions

Posted: Friday, April 22, 2011 6:19:20 PM(UTC)
mseymour

mseymour

Member Posts: 1
0
Like
There are a couple of questions out there about how to add runas to a custom action, but I did not see any answers.

So here is how I got run as to work with computer management. There are several variations you can do with this but our need was to run computer manager as the local administrator (this enables us to add the domain admins into the local administrators group).

1. A local admin username and password must be the same on your local computer(where you are executing the runas command) and the computer you are connecting too.

2. Create a custom action with the following command -

runas /user:localadmin "mmc.exe compmgmt.msc /computer:{computer}"

That's it. When you run the custom action, you will be prompted for the password and then a few seconds later computer manager will load for the remote machine.

Once we get the domain admins group added to the local administrators group on all the machines we will change the /user:localadmin to /user:domain\domainadmin.

You should be able to configure most of your custom actions to runas an admin.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Customer portal
by  Reconnect   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 3:15:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Deploy package on certain assets
by  support.ict  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 2:35:45 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report to show certain fields please
by  BradG   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 2:19:31 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Report To Show If MalwareBytes Is Installed and Version
by  jmzhs  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 2:01:17 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Complex Report on all Computers
by  Watoo   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:58:12 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Include Asset Comments in Search?
by  nmjohns  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:31:15 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Security logs not showing
by  delrio1112   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 12:56:34 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Security Logs not shwoing
by  delrio1112  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 12:54:45 PM(UTC)