Notification

Icon
Error

Runas Custom Actions

Posted: Friday, April 22, 2011 6:19:20 PM(UTC)
mseymour

mseymour

Member Posts: 1
0
Like
There are a couple of questions out there about how to add runas to a custom action, but I did not see any answers.

So here is how I got run as to work with computer management. There are several variations you can do with this but our need was to run computer manager as the local administrator (this enables us to add the domain admins into the local administrators group).

1. A local admin username and password must be the same on your local computer(where you are executing the runas command) and the computer you are connecting too.

2. Create a custom action with the following command -

runas /user:localadmin "mmc.exe compmgmt.msc /computer:{computer}"

That's it. When you run the custom action, you will be prompted for the password and then a few seconds later computer manager will load for the remote machine.

Once we get the domain admins group added to the local administrators group on all the machines we will change the /user:localadmin to /user:domain\domainadmin.

You should be able to configure most of your custom actions to runas an admin.

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Default.aspx is covering our logo header
by  Susan.A   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:38:37 AM(UTC)
Lansweeper Helpdesk News - Rotating messages
by  ARMCAdmin  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 11:38:13 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper See who has submitted the most tickets
by  toddm   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 10:40:12 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper LSpush duplicate entries
by  bzimmerle  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 10:05:29 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper NUC returning odd character string in SN and model
by  donald.walker   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 9:02:03 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Re-opened tickets
by  valaha  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 5:42:55 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Adding purchase information to asset
by  Bruce.B   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Yesterday at 4:19:50 PM(UTC)