Notification

Icon
Error

Runas Custom Actions

Posted: Friday, April 22, 2011 6:19:20 PM(UTC)
mseymour

mseymour

Member Posts: 1
0
Like
There are a couple of questions out there about how to add runas to a custom action, but I did not see any answers.

So here is how I got run as to work with computer management. There are several variations you can do with this but our need was to run computer manager as the local administrator (this enables us to add the domain admins into the local administrators group).

1. A local admin username and password must be the same on your local computer(where you are executing the runas command) and the computer you are connecting too.

2. Create a custom action with the following command -

runas /user:localadmin "mmc.exe compmgmt.msc /computer:{computer}"

That's it. When you run the custom action, you will be prompted for the password and then a few seconds later computer manager will load for the remote machine.

Once we get the domain admins group added to the local administrators group on all the machines we will change the /user:localadmin to /user:domain\domainadmin.

You should be able to configure most of your custom actions to runas an admin.

Top Rated

1 Lansweeper Lansweeper 5.2 (recent update)
by  MikeInLa  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/26/2014 9:57:29 AM(UTC)
2 Lansweeper Deployment monitor
by  DaveinJP  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 3/19/2015 1:36:19 PM(UTC)
3 Lansweeper Deployment Organization
by  Niley  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 1/15/2015 3:19:39 PM(UTC)
4 Lansweeper Place Main Page Tab before Global Tabs?
by  dkramer  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 1/20/2015 1:38:15 PM(UTC)
5 Lansweeper Custom Deployment Retry Time
by  jlorsung  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 2/27/2015 10:40:49 AM(UTC)
6 Lansweeper Approve software only for certain PCs or Users
by  sarmo  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 11/13/2014 4:09:33 PM(UTC)
8 Lansweeper Edit IP Location?
by  elliotross  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: 3/6/2015 7:23:18 PM(UTC)

Active Discussions

Lansweeper Is this expected behavior when scanning monitors?
by  Susan.A   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:40:41 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper What do you use as a Helpdesk Ticketing Solution
by  Susan.A  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:27:51 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Remote Scanning
by  Daniel.B   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:27:29 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Duplicate username, why ?
by  Susan.A  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:14:19 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Can't upload .par file to asset docs
by  Susan.A   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 1:11:08 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper QR Code Label Paper
by  sullivane  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 12:48:30 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Laptop screen size
by  MakeBug   Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 12:29:00 PM(UTC)
Lansweeper Multiple monitors connected to computer
by  Daniel.B  
Go to last post Go to first unread
Last post: Today at 8:36:17 AM(UTC)