Lansweeper logo
HomeDownloadBuy NowFeaturesSupportForumBlog
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

10 Pages«<56789>»
Tag as favorite
Update LS database with warranty information from Dell's site
john_e_wagner
#91 Posted : Monday, April 25, 2011 5:09:28 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users
Posts: 25
Location: Ohio
Just an FYI to Server 2008 SR2 Admins.

.Net 3.5 SP1 is required and it is NOT default installed. You can not download this framework to install it, you have to add the "feature" to Windows 2008 via the server manager. Otherwise you get a nasty error message telling you have a system Core Error. This means the server is calling for .net and not finding it. It looks like:
Quote:


D:\Software\DellWarranty\1.7\UpdateDellWarrantyInfo.v1.7>UpdateDellWarrantyInfo.
exe -WarrantyInfo -verbose

Unhandled Exception: System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or ass
embly 'System.Core, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c56193
4e089' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
File name: 'System.Core, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c
561934e089'
at UpdateDellWarrantyInfo.Program.Main(String[] args)

WRN: Assembly binding logging is turned OFF.
To enable assembly bind failure logging, set the registry value [HKLM\Software\M
icrosoft\Fusion!EnableLog] (DWORD) to 1.
Note: There is some performance penalty associated with assembly bind failure lo
gging.
To turn this feature off, remove the registry value [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Fus
ion!EnableLog].



<http://blogs.msdn.com/b/sqlblog/archive/2010/01/08/how-to-install-net-framework-3-5-sp1-on-windows-server-2008-r2-environments.aspx>

Here is my config file for those of you connecting to a remote DB.

Quote:


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuration>
<appSettings>
<add key="connectionString" value="Data Source=SQLServerName;Initial Catalog=lansweeperdb;Integrated Security=True;Connection Timeout=400"/>
</appSettings>
</configuration>



Did this ever get anywhere on installing this to the LANSweeper new release, or did any one ever get the C source code for this?

JW
BendItLikeBednar
#92 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 9:44:52 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users, Member
Posts: 5
bho wrote:
Hi, this tool is useful. Thank you so much.

May I know is there a similar machanism for Lenovo or HP? My environment has mixtured brand.

Thanks,


I'll echo the need for a Lenovo mechanism. If there was a way to strip out the first four of the type for the asseturl (type=4220 instead of type=4220UN5), that'd be ideal. Lacking an easy way to get the warranty info for the Lenovo computers is sad. :(
Corbett
#93 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 4:54:02 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users
Posts: 35
Location: US
I just found that Dell now has a web service that we can query for the warranty information. Anyone have the time to update the application to use the web service?

http://xserv.dell.com/se...?op=GetAssetInformation

Unfortunately I won't be able to do it unless the current way stops working.

Quote:
Did this ever get anywhere on installing this to the LANSweeper new release, or did any one ever get the C source code for this?

The c# source code is attached to the first post of this thread.
donglicao
#94 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 2:08:14 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users
Posts: 1
Trying to download the files.
Paul van Eijk
#95 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 5:31:45 PM
Rank: Freeware user

Groups: Member
Posts: 2
Location: The Netherlands
Hi All,

Can you tell me if this is working for the lansweeper version 4.2.0.54. If yes
where can I download the files. Is that the first page?


Greetings Paul
Paul van Eijk
#96 Posted : Friday, November 04, 2011 10:40:13 PM
Rank: Freeware user

Groups: Member
Posts: 2
Location: The Netherlands
Hi All,

I just tried to use the UpdateDellWarrantyInfo version 1.7 with lansweeper version 4.2.0.54. It seems not to work.


C:\UpdateDellWarrantyInfo.v1.7>UpdateDellWarrantyInfo.exe -assetTag 2CJRL2J -verbose
4-11-2011 22:21:42*CON:Data Source=SERVER;Initial Catalog=
lansweeperdb;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=USER;Password=PASS;Connection Timeout=400
4-11-2011 22:21:42*SQL:SELECT TOP 1 Assetlink FROM tsysassetlinks WHERE (Vendor
LIKE 'dell%')
4-11-2011 22:21:43*URL:http://support.euro.dell.com/support/topics/topic.aspx/em
ea/shared/support/my_systems_info/nl/details?c=nl&cs=nlbsdt1&l=nl&s=bsd&~ck=anav
ml&servicetag={assettag}
4-11-2011 22:21:43*SQL:SELECT Computername, IdentifyingNumber FROM tblComputerSy
stemProduct WHERE (IdentifyingNumber = '2CJRL2J')
4-11-2011 22:21:43+Query for: 115
4-11-2011 22:21:48 -Purchase Date: '1-1-0001'
4-11-2011 22:21:48 -Warranty Date: '1-1-0001'
4-11-2011 22:21:48*SQL:begin tran;update dbo.tblCompCustom with (serializable) s
et PurchaseDate=@pd, Warrantydate=@wd where computername=@cn;if @@rowcount = 0 b
egin insert into dbo.tblCompCustom (Computername, PurchaseDate, Warrantydate) va
lues (@cn,@pd,@wd) end;commit tran;


The information Purchase Date: '1-1-0001' and Warranty Date: '1-1-0001' is incorrect because it need to be Purchase Date: '20-11-2006' and Warranty Date: '20-11-2009'. But if I look at the website of Lansweeper and go to the service tag number 2CJRL2J the fields Purchase Date and Warranty Datehave not been filled-in.



Can someone tell me how to fix this please?


Greetings Paul

ChrisS
#97 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2011 11:31:19 AM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Member, Premium Users
Posts: 13
Location: Newcastle, UK
The HP url that seems to work is:

Code:
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/WarrantyResults.jsp?country=US&sn=ADD_SERIAL_HERE


is there a way that this script can be customised for HP, this would be a fantastic addition.

Thanks in advance
rgross@che.org
#98 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2011 4:39:30 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users, Member
Posts: 33
I will second that request for HP support!
i3eaconlight
#99 Posted : Friday, December 02, 2011 5:56:30 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Member, Premium Users
Posts: 2
Location: Kingston, Ontario
BendItLikeBednar wrote:
bho wrote:
Hi, this tool is useful. Thank you so much.

May I know is there a similar machanism for Lenovo or HP? My environment has mixtured brand.

Thanks,


I'll echo the need for a Lenovo mechanism. If there was a way to strip out the first four of the type for the asseturl (type=4220 instead of type=4220UN5), that'd be ideal. Lacking an easy way to get the warranty info for the Lenovo computers is sad. :(



Also in need of some Lenovo support... I constantly get asked for Lenovo warranty status etc... would be VERY helpful to have this instead of trying to get the information from other sources... ;P
jrhessey
#100 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 8:56:02 PM
Rank: Freeware user

Groups: Member
Posts: 2
Location: Ohio
aparker.dfwhc wrote:
Whenever I run this (either on my Vista SP2 machine or on the Windows Server 2003 machine Lansweeper is running on), Windows pops up an error message saying the program is not responding and needs to close, and then in the cmd box it says:

Unhandled Exception: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to
an instance of an object.
at UpdateDellWarrantyInfo.Program.Main(String[] args)


It has all the latest service packs, .net 3.5, etc.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!



I am getting this exact same error. Windows 7 64 bit box, .net 4 Framework Extended and Client Profile installed. Am I missing something else?
bpc
#101 Posted : Thursday, January 05, 2012 10:39:43 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users, Member
Posts: 17
Location: United States
This application is still working for us on lansweeper 4.2.0.56 despite Dell's recent redesign. It appears Dell is still maintaining the legacy version of the support site as well, but I imagine that won't always be the case. I also found this powershell script that would be a solid replacement, just need to modify the SQL commands for the lansweeper database. http://marcusoh.blogspot...dell-warranty-data.html

pcully
#102 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 12:58:21 PM
Rank: Freeware user

Groups: Member
Posts: 1
Location: Norwich UK
Hi All
New to this forum and have a question.
We have been running Lanseeper now for eighteen months with no problems.
As we are a predominantly Dell environment the warrant checking application has been a boon, however as of Monday we have all 800 odd purchase dates showing 05/11/11 and no warranty information.
Is this something that others are experiencing or has something broken?
Peter
staadmin
#103 Posted : Wednesday, February 08, 2012 4:56:06 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users, Member
Posts: 2
Location: USA
from What LS suppoort is saying, this appears to be an issue with the change of Dell's web site. When I run this tool the Purchase date is OK but the warranty date is showing as -Warranty Date: '1/1/0001' Anyone have any idea how to fix this tool to show correct Warranty date? Any help is appreciated!
sandve
#104 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2012 9:42:17 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users
Posts: 36
staadmin wrote:
from What LS suppoort is saying, this appears to be an issue with the change of Dell's web site. When I run this tool the Purchase date is OK but the warranty date is showing as -Warranty Date: '1/1/0001' Anyone have any idea how to fix this tool to show correct Warranty date? Any help is appreciated!


Here's a PowerShell script that will update the DB with info from Dells webservice.
File Attachment(s):
LS_DellWarrantyInfo.zip (2kb) downloaded 101 time(s).
ahahum
#105 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2012 10:42:50 PM

Rank: Premium user

Groups: Premium Users, Member
Posts: 8
sandve wrote:
staadmin wrote:
from What LS suppoort is saying, this appears to be an issue with the change of Dell's web site. When I run this tool the Purchase date is OK but the warranty date is showing as -Warranty Date: '1/1/0001' Anyone have any idea how to fix this tool to show correct Warranty date? Any help is appreciated!


Here's a PowerShell script that will update the DB with info from Dells webservice.


The script looks good! Thank you for posting it!

Anyone give me a tip on how to modify this to use the lansweeper database on a remote SQL server?

I'm not very acclimated to powershell yet...it's on the to-do list.

Thanks!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
10 Pages«<56789>»
Tag as favorite
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.